Fear and Trembling!

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Bright is the light,
Oh how it changes everything!

Deep skies full of stars,
Oh how it distances me!

Viscous is my soul,
Oh I'm afraid it'll never pour out!

White noise in the background, like remnants of the big bang
.. or was it the sad radio music and what it reminds me of -
the truth, and my thoughts about my own beating rhythm -
my past, my definition, and what I learnt from them today.

My reflection. That's not even me.
My projection. That's where I want to be.

Fear and trembling!

That's the sound of my voice on old static tape -
heavy and tragic, as if looking for meaning on a blank slate.
Empty, but unruled.

If I release these thoughts that bind,
I may end up a monster - mindless and blind.

"There is nothing with which every man is so afraid as getting to know how enormously much he is capable of doing and becoming"
by Soren Kierkegaard, in Fear and Trembling.


Written back in 2010. A lot has changed since! Edited to improve language. Decided to use the same image. It can be found here.


Follow me @kevinwong

Sort:  

"I should have bought more crap." on their deathbed says no-one. Never.

Nicely thought-provoking, Thank You!😄😇😄

@creatr

I might say it just for the record haha!

lol....that cartoon....so funny.....can you imagine the last words of someone? lol......that certainly would be someone "mindless and blind" and fearful.

Just a jab at consumerist culture :) haha

It's so true though....I seriously almost chocked on my coffee laughing at it.

Good to see the poet coming out.

Bright is the light,
Oh how it changes everything!

It lets use see our footsteps
and the path that's ahead.

I hope you can bear the shitty poetry.. (i never studied it)!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64630.77
ETH 3189.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56