2,017 Followers Milestone - A Year On Steemit!

in #life7 years ago

pexels-photo-221361.jpeg

This isn't supposed to be a wee-wee measuring contest, but this is my first time getting a good following ever since "following" became a thing on the Internet. Pretty surprising since I don't even think about it, except watching the numbers climb up! I think more than 50% of them are inactive, but I'll take whatever numbers I get lol. For those interested, here's my re-introduction post from 7 months ago.

The past year has been one of the most interesting times of my life getting involved in blockchain communities. I think cryptocurrencies are quickly becoming the hottest consumer products in the world. Because why not? Why is something that everybody uses - like the money that we use everyday - not be treated as a consumer product that's ripe for innovation? Nothing much has changed since its rudimentary inception by King Alyattes of Lydia in 600 B.C, until Bitcoin came along showing the way for the rest of us.

Now we can contribute whatever we want while essentially being co-owner in multiple projects. That's the magic of the tokenomy. It allows any relatively small, but diverse groups of people all over the world to operate in these new world organisations, contributing whatever they see fit. In this game, having no real job-scopes may ironically feel paralysing, but trust me, the best thing to do is to keep learning and do whatever floats your boat - anytime! It'll be up to others to decide on the value of your contributions.

pexels-photo-164531.jpeg

In fact, I believe in this notion so much that I actually applied for a job at https://colony.io before stumbling into the Steem blockchain. Needless to say they rejected the email with the subject title - "Are you looking for a shapeshifter?". No loss over there because Steem ended up being a much better implementation for the spirit of open-source communities. So for the past year I've been dabbling in just about everything I'm interested in blockchain projects from Ethereum smart contracts, setting up cabals, and blogging like I never used to.

As much as I like the newfound freedom, spreading myself out too thin is turning out to be a real big problem! I've been losing plenty of sleep and finding myself lost in the ethers of the new world economy. I've even neglected DJing and music production for close to a year now. The many potentials of blockchain technology is definitely astonishing and I'm really glad to have spent a great deal of time growing with the early adopters, many of whom started out as total strangers, and now it feels strangely like family. I'm definitely digging Steemit's diverse community more than any other. Plus, I still consider Steemit to be a killer app just by encapsulating the concept of "social currency".

With that, I'm planning to stay in the game and continue developing ideas with the hope of expanding the notion of autonomy, mastery, and purpose. In that, I'm still looking into my long-delayed plans to live a functionally mobile and nomadic lifestyle. It would be great travelling around, connecting the dots in various blockchain projects. If you're new to blockchain communities, I would highly recommend treating it all as self-exploration and self-development. Oh, have fun being (anti) social while you're at it!


Not sure if it'll work for everybody, but here are some Steemit tips:-

  • Write freely - check out my 11-month old article here.

  • Remind readers to follow you in a non-pushy way. What I do is I tend to put "Follow me @kevinwong" at the end of my posts. Only that.

  • Collaborate, and seek to help out great but largely unrecognised talents. Special thanks to @donkeypong for showing the way since the beginning.

  • Attend Steemfest if possible - it's really something special!

  • Stay in the game! Can't stress this enough.


Thanks for reading!
Images from Pexels.

Sort:  

Wow, Congrats. That is an amazing milestone. Well done @kevinwong :-)

Thanks! Also much thanks for upkeeping the Facebook steemit group for others to get their blogs out there!

For those interested: https://www.facebook.com/groups/welovesteemit/

You are very welcome. That is very kind Kevin :-) Thanks for spreding the word my dear :-)
Resteemed :-)

And our group is also growing daily. I approve lots of new members recently

Congrats - and I wish you even more good luck in the future! :)

Congrats!

Did you ever post some of your music here on Steemit? Love to hear!

Also great advises you make in your post. I'm generally using the term: persistence. When being persistent, it is for sure possible to grow in Steemit, in terms of Steem Power, but also in reputation (and then I mean not only the parameter we have but also the level of respect from other Steemians). It requires adding value though, hence not easy. Quality post may still go unnoticed though. Getting into conversations is I think by far the best way to get noticed, especially when going into conversation that has some meaning to it whether that be helping others, discussing views of others and bringing forward your own views on specific topics or whatever.

Trust you will have interesting times in front of you!

Quality post may still go unnoticed though. Getting into conversations is I think by far the best way to get noticed, especially when going into conversation that has some meaning to it whether that be helping others, discussing views of others and bringing forward your own views on specific topics or whatever.

You're onto something here. At one point it becomes more about supporting a user through understanding of character, rather than the actual content / work, although ideally it should just be about the material..

Did you ever post some of your music here on Steemit? Love to hear!

Just some mixes although I kinda refrain from anything because personally i've been shifting genres and thought i wouldn't wanna post something that isn't my thing anymore.. lol. Too self conscious

Thanks @edje, its ganna be an interesting year :)

Wow mate that is awesome, what a number! It's amazing how consuming this can all become, not just steemit the whole shebang of crypto.

Staying in the game is a great tip too :0)

It's amazing how consuming this can all become, not just steemit the whole shebang of crypto.

Haha i've never spent so much time on a subject before since getting into Steemit. But all worth it I guess :)

It's a very worthy subject. Hilariously I used to worry that video games consumed too much of my time!

This is an outstanding performance my friend. Congratulations. I am excited which way it will continue!

Likewise - never a better time than to be early adopters with others and setting up the stage for future users :)

There I am completely your opinion!

Well done you are a standing column of this amazing platform for decentralized censorless content with a real incentive for quality writers!

Thanks @mallorcaman! But for that, curation is super important and curators like @liberosist @alcibiades have been doing great work for such a long time spotting quality content creators :)

Congrats on the following. So much of this I can relate to, though I'm just getting started.

This line:

I've been losing plenty of sleep and finding myself lost in the ethers of the new world economy.

Yup!

Thanks! And be rest assured there'll be a booming community to share the load of NWE analysis and treasure-hunting :)

Wow, that's amazing! Congrats on your milestone!
I wish I had already been with Steemit longer, because then I could have attended Steemfest here in Holland! I can't travel across the world for it, so I'll have to wait til it's close again :-)

Thanks @playfulfoodie :). I think you're still early in the game!

As for Steemfest - I think it might be in Europe again! Not too sure about that. The USA will be too darn far for me though!

That would be awesome! The US is too far away for me too! Can't afford that :-)

Good job. Keep going.

Thanks brotha - keep walkin'

It's funny when we look back and see how everything evolved huh? One cannot possibly imagine what the future holds.

Well we can only project and attempt whatever we can although admittedly its all out of control! The speed of change will never be the same again..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59010.30
ETH 2515.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45