When you get a Job & Find out The company is Closing

in #life6 years ago

Youngslogo.png

source

Iwant to share this bizarre experience I had which I ended up on the front page of National Newspaper. ( Pic below) Keeping mind I AM NOT THE STORY.

I went for a job interview I & was told I could start the following day. I had left my previous employment to start this new job I thought would be more hours/overtime + more money. I am a fish filleter & my wage is based on piece work so the more I fillet the more I get paid.
Approx £100-£140 a day which is great when you live in one of the best places in Scotland/UK for getting the most out of your wealth. The general living is almost 3x cheaper than most places in the UK , Housing is also cheaper, e.g. a 2-3 bedroom house cost anything from £120k £150k compared to £250- £300k in some counties in UK & that's modest, Everything seems to be more affordable in Aberdeenshire.
The area is mostly Fishing & Oil & Gas industries so there is a lot of wealth in Fraserburgh, Peterhead & Aberdeen (those being the coastal towns & City)

FB_IMG_1435154664360.jpg

That is me pictured above leaving my SUCCESSFUL interview, Picture was taken from a copy of Press & Journal LTD (My own Copy)

Youngs Seafood is one of the top Fish processers in UK & have the top supermarkets Sainsbury, Tesco, Asda, Marks & Spencers as there top customers.
Youngs had been an employer for 20+yrs in Fraserburgh & had 2months previously spent £4mill on a new extension for Filleting departments & machines. Things were going great.
Now, this is a company that employs over 3000, 1000 people in Fraserburgh alone & last I checked was the top employer. This multi-million-pound company lost ONE CONTRACT from Sainsbury for their Salmon product. Sainsbury had found a similar product at a cheaper price from a company in Edinburgh.
This ONE CONTRACT destroyed Youngs Seafood in Fraserburgh. I believe the HQ in Grimsby thought moving all equipment to their local factory would help but NO the company is a shadow of its former self & scrapes by yearly with small contracts. 1000 people were made redundant and now the company employs 100 at most but only when they have enough work. Maybe 2 -6month of work & again redundancies.

It's such a shame that a company like Youngs couldn't successfully negotiate that ONE CONTRACT & it makes me wonder WHY? because they had the products, reputation, staff, & had completed 1000s of orders for their customers who had been for 10+ years.
Money / Finances must have played such an important role that the customer MAY NOT have had any choice but to terminate their long-term business relationship & seek other possibilities as it could easily have been the supermarket that had to close if they continued with Youngs. (That's Speculation & My opinion)

This link has all the headlines of Youngs Seafoods and the closure of their main Plant also the stepping down of their COB Peter Ward. https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/tag/youngs-seafood/

The Scottish & UK Government all tried in vain to save Youngs Seafoods from closing Fraserburgh from 2014.

This Building is huge & has potential. Fraserburgh &Peterhead are fishing towns that have lots of Fish processing plants that stepped in to give employment to those who had lost their jobs (some had been employed 25+yrs) & lost security.

The community may have been shaken by this closure but after some adjustment, 2years later from the last day of production the community is strong once more and with new companies opening job security seems to be SECURE at the moment. https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/news/north-east/fraserburgh/1370193/boost-for-fraserburgh-fish-processing/

Thank you for taking the time to read my post. It may have been back in 2014/15 but it has affected my town to this day. Hope you enjoyed it & also the links are interesting & provide more information about the whole situation.
I just wanted to share my experience getting an interview from a company that had news crews and journalists outside their premises reporting on the closure & at the same time, I'm getting a job to start following day. It was bizarre.

Sort:  

Congratulations @keviginge! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68125.63
ETH 3308.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74