My morning routine helps me get things done

in #life7 years ago

Establish a routine

I have tried many times to change my habits. I have tried to stop eating sweets, and I have been attempting to start exercise, I have tried many other things, and I have failed. Not failed but decided to give up after a week or two.
I have realized that the reason for me giving up was that it became too hard for me. I didn't have the discipline needed.

I have learned that it takes 66 days to establish a new habit (source Robin Sharma). I have tried that, and it works, but it takes a lot of discipline...

I'm one of these people that get most things done early in the morning. I'm not sure why but it has always worked that way for me. This doesn't mean that I wake up brisk in the morning or that I love to get up. But in 2014 I learned about the 66 days to establish a new habit. I also learned that when things are habits, it's not easy to change them. That is why it's so hard to break bad habits.
In 2014 I established the habit of waking up at 5 AM... And below you can read about what the h... I'm doing that time of the day.

bild1-1024x685.jpg

My morning routine

I wake up at 5 AM, almost every day. I do it on a daily basis because this way it's a habit, which makes it a lot easier for me to get up. To get up early gives me 2-3 hours when I can do whatever I want. And it's my productive time of the day. I'm writing this at 6 AM...

To wake up, it helps a lot to do some exercise. I do yoga, for half an hour.

yoga_life.jpg

Yoga gives me peace in the soul and a healthy body. After my yoga, I'm not tired anymore. Because you know, even if I usually to gets up at 5 AM I'm exhausted when I wake up.

Yoga gives me an amazing start for the new day.

Water-lillies-1024x685.jpg

5.45 AM. Done with yoga, what's next? I usually read Steemit posts, write comments and make upvotes. I try to write a post, not every morning but when I feel inspired to do so. Like today. After my Steemit session, I start my daily studies. And I study until lunchtime. Afternoons are not my primetime, lol. I get sluggish after lunch. I enjoy my kid's company when they get home from school. I go for a walk or whatever I feel like doing.

And there is one downside to getting up at 5 AM, the only one as I see it, I go to bed before 10 PM... Which most people don't. Imagine me at a party! Well, I manage to keep awake at parties actually, but at home, there is not much of a chance to talk to me after 10 PM.

This time of the year it's dark until 8 AM, this makes it's harder to get up, but it also makes me happy when the sunrises. Seeing the sun rising is another benefit of waking up early. The only exception is in the middle of summer when the sun rises at 3-4 AM.

So depending on the time of the year, I often grab my camera at sunrise and get out for a short walk. There is nothing as fresh as the air outside in the morning.

DSC_0528-686x1024.jpg
Winter morning

DSC_0629.jpg
Foggy morning

In summer mornings, the flowers in my garden are so beautiful, showing it's the best side in the morning sun:

DSC_1815-1024x687.jpg

Summary

  • To establish a new habit you need to keep doing it for more than two months.
  • It takes discipline, especially the first weeks.
  • There are so many benefits in establishing routines and good habits, you manage to get the things done that you wish to do.

Creative Commons

All my images in this post are available to use for your posts under creative commons license.

This means:

This means you can:
Share — copy and redistribute the material in any medium or format
Adapt — remix, transform and build upon the material
for any purpose, even commercially.

Under the following terms:
Attribution — You must give appropriate credit, provide a link to the license, and indicate if changes were made. You may do so in any reasonable manner, but not in any way that suggests the licensor endorses you or your use.

---

Proud member and supporter of the Minnow Support Project - Brought to you by @aggroed, @ausbitbank, @teamsteem, and @canadian-coconut


---

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

Steemsugars -a project with purpose to bring more women onto Steemit and into Crypto

AMB ENG HOS.png

Check it out at @humansofsteemit

Sort:  

you have a great program. I get up at 6 o'clock in the morning but I go to work with my eyes closed and when I get home at 8 o'clock in the evening I am not going to look at Steemit for dinner: / maybe I should do yoga. can make me more energetic

Same for me when I work, up at five and leaving at 7. Now I study online and can plan my days easier. But I definitely recommend yoga, without it I would be so tired.

Amazing nature @kerlund74

That was a great post and I loved the jetty picture 😃
I can’t upvote it yet as my SP is recharging 🙁

Thank you! I knew you would like that one :D Thanks for your comment!

i also love yuga
and , i used to do exercises every day , but now i dont do it every day , i should start it again :)

Yes you should it's awesome, I love it:-)

Starting new things can be so difficult. But you’re exactly right. Force yourself for those 66 days until it becomes habit. I’ve been telling myself to try yoga for awhile now. Time to stop talking and just do!

Yes but the thing is that it's really hard the first weeks. But later on, it gets easier and easier. And if you really want to get a new habit it's worth it, whatever it is:)

Those first weeks are so hard. Notice I said "force" LOL. At least that's what I have to do for myself. Literally force myself to do it. But it does always pay off!

good morning friend! have a good day

Thanks (a bit late) and I hope you enjoyed your day!

You wake up at 5 am??Its impossible for me, i sleep late night and wake up on 7 am daily.. i appreciate your time management

7 AM is not that late... As long as it works for you :-)
Thank you!

Thanks for posting this, such a beautiful and inspiring writing. I love it.
I myself still trying hard to fight my sleeping habit. But it's so hard to keep on the track. Lol 😂

I know it is, that is why I'm a bit hard on myself with no exceptions :-) I haven't always been able to do this, but once I established this habit I will not let it go, lol

That's good for you...
I'll do my best to change my bad habit like you do ^ ^

Great it feels good, I hope you will succeed!

your lifestyle is very disciplined and fun at the same time.
Take care of yourself.you already do it...

Thank you! Glad you like it :)

I wish I could wake earlier but I struggle to get up while it is still dark! I have to admit though, I did manage to wake early a few weeks back when I woke up to snow and headed straight out with my camera to take some pics and was lucky enough to catch the sunrise over the snow too! It really is the golden hour :)

That is awesome and a memorable moment, lovely! I also hate to get up during the dark time of the year, but I try to keep it up. It's hard to get up in darkness and it's dark until 8 AM... I think it doesn't matter when I have to struggle to get up anyway.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65