You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Good, the Bad, the Naked

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Interesting topic!

I have been naked outdoors a few times and I agree it felt liberating to me. Like some other topics, this one might be hard to opine on unless you've tried it. Thinking about it is one thing, experiencing it is something else. You may have a different opinion after doing it.

I would be okay with being naked on a beach, if it's not illegal and others are nude too, but I wouldn't do it on a street. I'm thinking of other people's level of comfort. If the beach is signed as clothing optional, then those who choose to stay clothed will at least know that naked people might be around and if they are not interested in seeing that, they should not be at that beach. Generally, no one expects to see naked people on the street. Someone might not prefer to be exposed to that, and they may need to be on that particular street, so they would be in an uncomfortable situation with little recourse.

As to why it might be uncomfortable to see, or embarrassing to be the person seen, I think people judge other people all the time, consciously and unconsciously, and being naked exposes more to be judged. Think about how we judge. We judge people's hair styles, clothes, cars, height, weight, complexion, jewelry, tattoos, makeup, slogans and logos on T shirts and hats; and then once we talk to them, we judge their intelligence, religion, politics, and basically everything they say.

If you feel good about how you look, you might not be embarrassed to be naked and may not care about any judgement. But others might not want to see you, for many reasons such has jealousy, fear of becoming aroused, not wanting to view anyone but their partner naked, as well as religious and societal reasons.

Does one individual's thoughts about what is proper behavior give them the right to do that thing, if many others will be put in a situation not of their choosing which will make them have a reaction consciously and unconsciously, some of which might be very deeply rooted in the biology of the brain and which requires some conscious work, over a period of time, to not react to? I think philosophers have been thinking about deep questions like this for centuries.

Those are some of my thoughts. Seems like a good topic to discuss in person over a meal or beverage for a few hours. I'd be interested in hearing other peoples thoughts in a more interactive manner than an online blog, but I'm also glad to chat about it in here. Thanks for the mental prompt! :)

Sort:  

I think we have a lot of unhealthy ideas about nudity and sex and a lot of fears concerning that area of our lives and maybe we shouldn't have them :/ Well, I've got a bunch of tattoos and I don't care who sees them. If anyone minds, I hope they know what they can do with that. I think it would be fun to go out naked :D

fear of becoming aroused,

What's there to fear about being aroused? :)
Yes, I'm sure it would make for interesting conversation, but since this is all we have..

Here's another similar post on steemit, by excellent artistic poet @jessandthesea which I think adds to our conversation!
https://steemit.com/poetry/@jessandthesea/pretty-soon-they-ll-be-calling-me-topless-in-mexico-city

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 64750.39
ETH 3148.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58