It’s Time to Work Backwards

in #life6 years ago

BE486581-3E83-4DA1-BA64-E9501C784720.jpeg

The average human lifespan, which is dependent on many variables, lasts around 28,000 days. Many of those days are spent toiled away on useless nonsense (let’s be honest).

The question is, since we have such a limited time here on earth and all of us are going to pass away eventually... why do we spend our time engaged in petty arguments and states of unforgiveness?

The Exercise

It’s time to work backwards and reverse engineer our lives using a short exercise. Join me will you? I want you to picture yourself at the end of your life. Think about where you will be and who you’ll be with.

Now, I want you to think about yourself looking back over your life like many elderly people do. How do you feel? Is there any regret? Any remorse? Any “I wish I would have’s” coming to mind?

Since our time on this earth is limited (often times we don’t consider that notion), and we accept that truth, we can then start placing ourselves at the end and working our way back towards the present.

How did it all play out? Did your life end up the way you wanted it to? Did you take the actions and adopt the thought patterns necessary to reach your full potential and satisfy your calling?

An easy way to think about it is this... if you continued on your current route and present state of consistent (or non-consistent) action, would you be able to achieve your goals and dreams? Would you be in that place that you truly desired to be? Or, would your dreams die along with you at the end of your life?

I know, deep stuff for being this early on a Saturday morning (the coffee is assisting me 😉). I’m saying all this because I don’t take life lightly. We only get one shot at this place.

The Antidote

Ok, now for the uplifting side of this post (exclusively on Steem btw). There is a method of operation if you will that I live by, and I hope to inspire you to adopt as well.

Instead of worrying about the end of my life, including regrets and “what-if’s”, I decide to live with passion. What does that look like? Basically I live my life doing things that light me up...things that gets me excited.

I believe that whatever you focus on, expands. If worry and doubt fill my mind, that is what will show up in my life. But, if I focus on how I WANT to feel and on what I want to experience, then that is what will show up in my life. If this stuff sounds familiar, it’s because it’s based on the law of attraction.

My advice is to figure out what you want in life. Figure out how you want your life to end up...then work backwards. What are the steps that you need to take in order to reach that desired end?

Perhaps a step for you is networking. Maybe it’s starting a business. Maybe it’s getting a gym membership. Maybe it’s saying “I’m sorry” to a loved one. I don’t know your story...but you do!

Life is a journey, not a destination. Just like the weather seasons each serve a unique purpose...so does each season or time period in your life. Embrace the good and the bad and know that it is all part of God’s master plan.

This post is going on too long but the coffee is still doing its thing haha. Have an amazing rest of your day friend. If you get nothing else from this post, just remember this... Never give up and always believe. 😉✌🏻

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

You are absolutely right my friend as we often lose perspective and focus on what we do not have instead of what we do have and how we can achieve what we want as well. I am often seeking to have that perspective with my family as opportunities continue to surround us.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes, it’s all about focus! Glad we share the same mindset. Powerful stuff 👊🏻

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great post! Keep the coffee flowing!

Always! ☕️ haha

Posted using Partiko iOS

I like how you often end your posts with Never Give Up & Always Believe 😊

That’s because it’s such an important message to live by. If you never give up and always believe...how can you lose?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great post. One of my passion is still the one keeping me on steemit till date

Yes, it’s a fun place to be!

Posted using Partiko iOS

very romantic, you must be happy

Extremely happy. My wife is a huge blessing in my life.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74