Canadian Celebrates New Year With Chinese Family! (Epic Feast & Handmade Dumplings!)

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steem Blockchain!

thumbnail.jpg

First, I'd like to say Happy Chinese New Year! (Xin Nian Kuai Le in Chinese)

For the unaware, the Chinese New Year is based upon something called the Lunisolar calendar. Many might think that the calendar is based upon the lunar cycles, but most people don't know that a Chinese Lunar Calendar uses both the sun and moon to determine the length of 1 year.

The new year is associated with the beginning of Spring. That is why after the new year, the Chinese celebrate the Spring Festival. Each new year is represented by an animal.

chinesehoroscopeanimals.png

Source

This year is the year of the dog!

dog.jpg

Dalian, Liaoning Province

The dog represents Honesty & Loyalty. People born during this year are believed to have these characteristics and are most compatible with people born during the year of the Rabbit, Tiger and Horse, whereas they are least compatible with those born in the year of the Dragon, Ox and Goat. According to Chinese New Year 2018:

Men born in the Dog year are straightforward and genuine. They are energetic, though they’re more pessimistic inside.

Very opinionated, they’re always ready to correct others and defend their stance. It’s not that they want to show off. They just feel it’s necessary to help others realize their mistakes.

These men care deeply for their family. Their stubbornness fades in the face of their loved ones. They work to understand and compromise, resulting in a harmonious family life.

Women born in the Dog year are very cautious. They are indifferent towards people they don’t like, and don’t trust easily. But once they do, it’s permanent. They are intensely protective of their friends and family.

They are genial and independent. They love outdoor activities and being in nature. However, they are also hard workers and don’t give up until they succeed. Security and a stable income are her requirements for a career.

How do Chinese people celebrate the new year? Let me show you!

My girlfriend, Lillian, invited me to come celebrate the Spring Festival with her family in her hometown of Dalian, located in the northeastern province of Liaoning.

I was thrilled to come along and celebrate with them. It is the biggest holiday of the year in China because almost everyone gets a week off work to visit their families in their hometown. As a result, it will be difficult to find a train ticket during this time. However, I was fortunate enough to get my hands on one.

I packed my luggage and headed out!

luggage.jpg
train station.jpg

The train station in Qinhuangdao, Hebei Province

I was planning to stay for about a week. Initially, I thought about staying at her parents house, but realized that this time is very busy for everyone and I probably would take up too much space in their home with all my luggage and camera gear. Eating is an integral part of the Spring Festival, so the house would be too hectic and I wouldn't have an privacy or space to myself. Instead, I opted to stay at a hotel.

hotel view.jpg

View from outside the hotel

The name of this hotel is Quan Ji Jiu Dian, but in English, they just called it Ji Hotel. Quan Ji means... "Every Season"? I guess they wanted to copy the Four Seasons name hahaha. Jiu Dian means Hotel.

Before commencing our Spring Festival festivities, I wanted to take a quick glimpse of Dalian. Lillian and I took a hike up a mountain to get a view of the cityscape. The city is beauteous, but I wish I could go on a day where the air pollution wasn't easily detectable.

self.jpg

More pictures of the city will be added in future blog posts!

When travelling to China, you will most likely see homes decked out in some special New Year's decorations. Check out this home for instance:

front door.jpg
1.jpg
On the front door, there is the Chinese character, 福 (pronounced "fu" with a rising intonation), which has several meanings like good fortune, prosperity and happiness. This character is very important to Chinese culture. Many homes have this character on their front door not only during the Spring Festival, but year-long.

lanterns.jpg
2.jpg
Addionally, lanterns are hung up all over the city; parallel and across the streets. The origin of the lanterns may be unclear. One possible explanation is that in ancient times, lanterns were used to symbolize the metaphorical removal of darkness.

After my little tour of Dalian, we embarked on our food journey to purchase some ingredients for our upcoming feast. We went into a underground market selling a myriad of meats!

meat.jpg

This place was pretty hectic. Unfortunately, I don't have any photos of the rambunctious crowds and vendors shouting everywhere, but you'll have to just trust me on this one. The vendors sold a variety of sausages, animals organs, pig faces and fat, duck meat, chicken, etc. In China, they don't really waste as much of the animal as many do in the West. Usually, people in the West only stick to eating lean meats while in China, they will eat almost any part of the animal. Ever tried chicken feet? Not a big fan...

Next, we bought some snacks. Whenever you go to a Chinese home, they often have a variety of fruits, candies and seeds to munch on. Markets that sell these items are pretty much everywhere in China. The one we went too was quite massive and puts Bulk Barn to shame!

snacks.jpg

Bags of sweet candies, nuts and dried fruits were frantically placed in bags:

lillian.jpg

When we got back to her parents' house, it was only a short time before the feast was ready! The parents tirelessly work all day during the Spring Festival in order to cook a variety of tasty, mouth-watering and sometimes bizzare dishes.

food aerial view.jpg
feast.jpg

Lunch time! Fried silkworms, frozen and fried shrimp, pork with broccoli or green bell peppers, spareribs, pig fat, garlic sprouts, jellyfish with Chinese cabbage, fish, chicken and dried beef

What really surprised me were the frozen shrimp. These shrimp are from the North Pole and upon catching them are immediately steamed. Eating them frozen confused me at first, but after eating one, they tasted like a delicious snack. Extremely fresh and a delectable eating experience. The rest of the food tasted great (well, I'm still put off by the gooey insides of the silkworms that explode in your mouth). Personally, I don't eat pork, so that was the only thing I didn't feast on.

It is a tradition to eat dumplings during most holidays in China; especially the new year. I decided to help make these dumplings to show off that this laowai (foreigner) can make Chinese food! We had two types of fillings for the dumplings: Chinese chives with eggs and pork with onions. There are 3 basic steps to making a dumping:
4.jpg
making dumplings.jpg

  • Step 1: Roll out the dumpling skin.
  • Step 2: Place your choice of fillings in the middle.
  • Step 3: Pinch closed.

The most difficult part for me is pinching the dumpling closed. I often put too much filling and then it gets difficult to close it properly. Also, there is an art to it as well; you can't just close it shut. It takes some special skill with your hands to pinch it in a way where there are wrinkles and curves in all the right places and the seal is strong enough that the dumpling doesn't break open when you boil them.

This is what I ended up with:

dumplings.jpg

I didn't make all of these dumplings. Lillian was also there making them with me. If you look at the top picture, the top half were made by Lillian and the bottom half were made by me. Look closely and you can see the difference between hers and mine. Her's has more folds and look fatter, while mine look elongated. Not to bad on my part, but I'll have to keep practicing.

That about wraps up this blog post (pun intended). I was so thrilled to see my previous post get so well-received. I do put a lot of time and effort into these posts to make sure the photos and text are to the best of my ability. I'm always improving and I hope you enjoyed this.

Thanks for reading!

Kenan.png

Instagram: https://instagram.com/KenanQHD
Twitter: https://twitter.com/KenanQHD
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@kenanqhd
MeiPai: @柯南QHD
Weibo: @柯南QHD

Sort:  

Looks like you had a great time! I was secretly hoping you'd include some info on what it means that this is the year of the dog. Do the animals represent something, does this being the year of the dog bring about any typical expectations for people in China? Again, loved the pics and the attention for detail, great style!!

You know what? You're right. I should probably add the meaning to my blog post. The Dog represents honesty and loyalty. Babies born during this year are believed to have these characteristics. Also, it shows their compatibility with other animals. So a person born in the year of the dog will be most compatible with people born in the year of the rabbit, tiger and horse, whereas they will be least compatible with people born in the year of the dragon, ox and goat.

This website goes into more detail about this zodiac. I was born in the year of the horse! (Dec. 1990)

Wow this is an awesome post. I know very little about China/Chinese culture, and have been learning a lot through Steemit. Some of that food looks good, but I don't think I could handle the silkworms!!! Thanks for sharing your experience :)

My pleasure. I agree; silkworms are not my thing!

Hello @kenanqhd, welcome to "dong bei"! Dalian is a very nice city. My hometown, name of which is 'Anshan', is actually not that far away from Dalian! I am happy you to hear that you like our "dong bei" food, especially the dumplings! :)

Hey @kikima, thanks for your comment. I really like Dongbei, it has the best food! I checked out your page and it seems like now you live and work in Shanghai. That's pretty awesome. Wish you success on Steem!

新年快乐!

This is beautiful . It's a good thing to mingle with other cultures and feel what they feel too

Indeed. Thanks for checking this post out!

I learned a lot from this post,about Chinese new year celebrations. .Chinese New Year celebrates was wonderful.thank you very much for sharing beautiful post. @kenanqhd

My pleasure.

Looks like an amazing spread

It was quite tasty!

Hello Im Upvote and FOLLOW YOU Please Upvote me Post and Comment plaese sir.
https://steemit.com/dmania/@yasayanoluler/steemit-millionaire-life-zg1hbmlh-dm26y

@resteem.bot
Resteemed to over 13000 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.200 Steem or 0.200 Steem Dollar and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.

We are happy to be part of the APPICS bounty program. APPICS is a new social community based on Steem. The presale was sold in 26 minutes. The ICO will start soon. Read here more: https://steemit.com/steemit/@resteem.bot/what-is-appics

@resteem.bot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64319.13
ETH 3411.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51