Enough

in #life7 years ago

I had enough. My name is Kelmer and I am a recovering Prepper.

I had enough. Enough waiting for the slow burning hell that has become what I had thought would be an overnight event. Enough clutter of having a year supply of everything taking up every inch of my home. Enough worrying about what I needed to do next. Needed to learn next. What I had forgotten. Taking inventory. Stocking up. Restocking. Rotating. ENOUGH. Enough of living in the future so much I barely lived in the now. ENOUGH.

It came to me one day in January; something Clif High said long ago when asked where is the best place to live to survive the scary parts in the ALTAs. He replied there is no place because its your karma that decides what happens to you. You could be totally prepped and along comes a tornado and flings your ass 3 miles away and all your crap is gone. Where you live or what you have doesn't matter; the Universe Does what the Universe Does. I heard that years ago and due to the thickness of my skull and my penchant for using my left brain most of the time, it took years to finally sink in.

I had enough. -and I cannot tell you how wonderful it feels to be liberated from the fear, uncertainty and doubt. YES, of course, I still have months of essentials, but I don't manage it anymore. If I run low, I get more. As for all the gear, most of it sold on Craigslist and at first it was hard to let go, but the more I did, the better it felt until I was practically giving crap away. Goodbye generator, Excalibur & spare Berkeys. Goodbye marine cart, folding bike & Woodsman's Pal. I even sold my GB4000 & my favorite Beretta! I don't miss you.

I took all that money and bought Bitcoin at $1,000. But, that's not the point. The Fallacy of Prepping is you don't control anything. In the end, you can only be so prepared and it will NEVER be good enough anyway. The best prep is your ability to overcome and adapt. So, do whatever you want, but hear this from a recovering life long Prepper. I had enough. I let it go and I live in the now. It is the best thing I have done for myself in 20 years and I can't wait to get rid of more shit.

Sort:  

I believe it was hard !
What ever you decide - do it.
Only this way you going to be happy !
;-)

Bravo, I can imagine that was a hard thing to go through. We recently sold a house and all our possessions in order to be able to travel and live in foreign countries. We got all our possessions into 6 bags and off we went. We've lived in Costa Rica and now in Panama. It was difficult for me since I had place so my "imagined" security on those "things". I, like you, feel liberated.
I'm going to follow a kindred spirit Best of luck

I applaud to You!!!
It is great !
Take a look at my friends post.
I think you going to like it !

https://steemit.com/life/@insteadofmoney/where-to-invest

;-)

I sense there are a lot of kindred spirits learning and living the mentalist mindset; especially since it seems week after week news of North Korea seeking to nuke the U.S. mainland flares, then quietens. Wise people soon come to the realization that even if they did have fifty years worth of supplies (exaggerated) if a nuke hits anywhere near them, everything will be so radiated that it will all be for naught; unless, of course they're among the few who have deep bunkers, and they themselves survive the blast without a detrimental consequence having survived such. SMH.
But, congrats lindabasilick on your decision. I believe some of the happiest people are those who learn to grow where they're planted. It's interesting you mention Panama. It's supposed to be a big paradise for ex-pats and those with dual citizenship. What's your take on it? Could you see yourself settling there for the long haul? Yes, there's nothing like decluttering the physical and emotional life to feel brand new. Best regards!

Hi, We do have a lot in common.
We try and not make long haul plans. We have a list of places we would consider living in but if our health dictates we'd move back to the US. We've been here for 18 months now and just rented a furnished house for the next year. We're happy here. Yes, lots of expats here, LOTS. But many don't stay for long because they miss their families or the conveniences of the US.

Wow, it's good to hear the other side of the story. We hear about the exit; but not the recidivism back to the great U.S. I understand missing the family. There's something about SKYPE that just lacks connection. I don't think I'd miss the 'luxuries' a lot; but, it's one thing to talk, and a whole other, to live day in and day out without things we take for granted. Thanks for your reply.
Peace.

In life, one has to do what's best for them. I can't imagine owning a whole lot of 'stuff' that I may or may not use one day. Most people peddling the products you mention are getting rich off the short-sightedness of people who clearly can't see how swiftly their own lives can be as that of Job. The Lord giveth, and the Lord taketh away. Blessed be the name of the Lord. Many have everything they need for the big one; and, the big one never comes, or it does and destroys everything they banked on for survival. They put things sustaining them without regard for the True Sustainer. I realize you're into karma and the Universe; but, as a Christian, I realize my only genuine hope is in the Lord! Peace...and kudos on your decision! I sense what you have need for should the time arrive, will be there for you.
Again, Peace!

As someone who once preached the Word on the streets of Seattle, I can assure you its all pretty much the same word. Peace, Love, Happiness and all that is in between. Doesn't matter who said it or wrote it down, we all know in our hearts and souls, that is the way.

Namaste

Somehow, I believe at the end of the day it is a heart matter. I can hardly wait to see how God brings all the tribes of people He created into one Voice. No more infighting over race, religion, and everything in between :+).
Namaste.

Wow...I'm checking back in to reread this post and can say I'm disappointed at the low number of views it's getting. This happened to a recent article I published; and, I had to ask myself why. Well, in my case, after rereading my post I realized I had much more that could have been left on the 'cutting room floor'. However, even after doing a major edit; I realized that the headline was lacking the 'grab' element. I feel that's the same with this post. Perhaps, if the title read: Enough: Why I Gave Up On 20 Years of Prepping...Of course, this article could be cut and paste, and given a new headline. Of course, the one I suggested is yours should you choose to repost this. I think it's something worth reading; so, I will give it a resteem.
Btw, I hope you're faring well with the major life-adjustment.
Peace.

Thanks - the thing is I am writing for myself and have no expectations of anything. In that too, I am liberated.

Namaste

I think that's called cathartic. Most avid writers have this at their root. It is liberating to talk it out with 'pen and paper'. Praising God for the keypad :+)!

Please consider an update on your minimalist journey. It touched a cord with many who read it. I joy in giving everything I no longer want or need away. I held on to a lot of stuff, thinking my kids would want it when they became adults, (dishes, etc); but, they had tastes of their own. They wanted to carve their own path, collect things that reflect who they are. So getting rid of stuff, decluttering, is a liberating thing! Many should try it. At the end of the day, when we take our last breath, someone will have to weed through everything we leave behind. We should make it easier for them.
Peace!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61119.19
ETH 2615.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65