Why Aren't People Retiring? (Part One)

in #life7 years ago

angel-2491383_960_720.jpg

Lately, I've been noticing something a bit scary. Many of the older people in my life Aren't retired. My Grandma still works. I'm pretty sure my grandpa does too.
Why?
I know my grandma needs the money. And that scares me. I always picture retirement as a thing that old people do; They can travel freely, And do whatever they want.

That's not the case

Why are people postponing retirement?

old-age-1147283_960_720.jpg

My Thoughts on This

I feel ripped off! Growing up I started learning more about the world, And it seemed more and more ridiculous. So we get a job, We have this boss that tells us when we can take days off. They supply 100% of our income. We work for these people full time for 40 years. And eventually, when we are old, Our bodies beat up and tired. We get the freedom to do what we want!
By that time, We may or may not have enough money, Or energy to do so. While all this is happening, The government snatches a massive chunk of our money away from our every paycheck.
dependent-100343_960_720.jpg
We have to pay for our home, Our food, And everything else. What is left is our "play" money. The money that brings us the most joy.

When I was working hard going to school and working two jobs. I felt heart broken. One job was full time as a housekeeper at a hotel. The other was a janitorial job. Then I went to school full time. Everything I did had to be rushed. I rushed my eating, Rushed my showers. I was always stressed and upset.
I wanted to draw! I wanted to do art. That's my passion. That's my everything and yet I don't get to do any of that stuff. As a child, I never realized the scope of the freedom I had. If I did. I think I would have used it more wisely.
husky-2470438_960_720.jpg
I remember breaking down when I asked myself a simple question.
"When can I do art?"
Then I started thinking about retirement. And I realized I wouldn't be able to pursue my passion for art until the retirement age of 65.
At that moment I lost all my desire to continue existing.
I feel so used by my employers. Paying me a shitty 7-8.00 an hour, to work my butt off, They take my most precious resource, my time. And throw me so little money.

This is when I set my sights on becoming self-employed. So I could free from that "Bad Deal."

Almost a year ago, I left my job. And Now I'm saving and investing as much as I can. I still have to pay taxes, And work lots of hours. But I get paid to do what I love the most: Art! Sometimes retiring is about leaving that crappy job and doing what you want to do!

But there is still a big problem. Many people aren't retiring!
Read the rest of this post in my next blog...

U5drLYNss12v1YzQs191E524dyPC88B_1680x8400.pngU5drMrxVHvve1uYfbEPsAArZ2FPTGVB_1680x8400.pngU5du6Tg4LRagCMftytdJokqaJrouYou_1680x8400 (1).pngU5dszFNSZhy2tgQ1W7xAikndfzLTAFv_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Yes! You go girl. It take courage to be self employed. I am working towards that goal. I feel the same... when I don't get to create and use my hands to create art, I start getting an itch.. and it doesn't go away. Artist to artist, I recently got a gig to paint a mural (super excited, since this is my first mural ever). Ekk Had to share with ya!

If only your employers could see you now, rocking it on Steemit, t-shirt business, published author, yes yes yes! You Rock!

Right? I'm the same way! Heheh
OMG A Mural? Of What exactly? That sounds so fun! I'm excited for you :)
Right? I hope they see it LOL
You are so sweet heehhe thank you.

Well I have ideas... but it is for a school. I'm going to have a meeting to see if I can come up with an interactive mural where kids could stand and take photos with the mural! It will probably include animals and nature since that's what I love drawing and painting the most. I'll document it so I can share it will all of ya'll on Steemit.

Eeek!! you better post that on Steemit! I'm so excited to see it!!

I see this too. With my 9 to 5 job and I am only 35, the more time you put in the more time off you can take. I am on a 2 week vacation because I put time in on the books. Eventually, I will have to go back because PTO runs out. I am thankful I have learned some extra strategies online that will give me income, if anything happens. As with older people, I am seeing more and more elderly work longer and not enjoying the time for rest...

Sure, being a self boss is so wonderful. But one have to plan him/her self from the very begining you can't just wake up and file for retirement. If you do you will die of hunger. So if one needs to retire young, is simple save more and invest. Because you got to keep earning one way or the other to make ends met

So true! Self employment can be hard, But it pays off.

Ya it really pay well. But got a price to pay

It is ridiculous that people work their whole lives trying to save for retirement, and then then can't afford it when they get there!

Right? It's so sad! I wish I could do something to help! like throw them the money or something LOL. Maybe the government should tax us ONLY for that reason. Then reimburse us when we are ready to retire LOL.

You should be in charge! 😄

Right! Of every aspect of your life!

And millennials are not buying into the stock market, which doesn't help the older folks retirement funds. Therefore they end up with less than predicted.

We woke up from the scam of retirement funds and pensions which hurts the ones that bought into it.

So true! I think they need to teach more investing in school.
True! It sucks that the scam has to hurt a bunch of honest people out there.

I can't tell you how many times I've felt the same way! I've always felt this way about life...

Right? The whole system seems messed up.

This is a great post! I wish I could be as brave and leave my 9 to 5 job to pursuit my dream! At the end of our lives it won't matter what we saved for retirement what will matter is what we did in our life that made us happy! This is such an epidemic the lack of working in something we enjoy doing.

Exactly!! It's really scary. But once you have a good foundation built. It's much scarier to leave.

I can name so many people past age 70 still having to work! resteemit for others to read!

Very lovely @kaylinart
upvote and followed you

Thank you so much :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64155.87
ETH 3422.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59