Stop Multi-Tasking, Do This Instead!

in #life7 years ago

girl-1942128_960_720.jpg

Multitasking is BAD BAD BAD! So many recent studies have proven how bad it is. Yet we still do it so much!
Here are ways to get your daily tasks done faster WITHOUT multitasking, (Multitasking slows you down anyways!)

Do Each Task Until The end.

We start something; We get distracted, We start it again. We get distracted again, And nothing ends up doing!
Usually, if the task takes less than 40 minutes, I'll do it until the end. So I can remove it from my mind and my to-do.
For larger tasks I use the Pomodoro technique to knock it out faster.

BATCH Your tasks

Similar tasks can be batched; This makes it faster and easier to get more done. When I write Steemit posts, You may notice I post them all around the same time, This is because I open a bunch of windows on my web browser, I have the stock photos I Like to use open, And Grammarly open. Along with Evernote and any research, I was doing.
I try to write 4 Steemit posts per day, So I open 4 Grammarly windows, As I finish each post, I close the windows. So I can see my progress and how many posts I'm down to at the moment.
Then when I'm done writing for the day, I open Gimp, Clipart websites, and other programs so I can start to work
I don't just make 1 Tshirt design, Then Write a steemit post then make another design. That would be silly. I write my Steemit posts in one couple hour period. Then I do a couple of hour period of Shirt designs, and a couple of hours of drawing.
When you mix stuff, It can be easier to get off track, and that shift causes your brain to have to adjust, Which uses more time. This makes it harder to stay on task.
smiley-1041796_960_720.jpg

Know How Long It Takes To do Each Task

Knowing about how long things take, Is important when planning your day. If you do the same things each day, Time it a few times to see how long it takes you so that you can require a reasonable amount of work for yourself each day! If you don't know how long something takes, How do you expect to have a reasonable timeline? Short answer, You can't.

Get Rid of the Stuff You Hate The Most

As you go about your day, your motivation and willpower are in a constant state of depletion. You don't have an unlimited amount. Sure you can still attempt to "force" yourself. But eventually, your brain will get really clever at coming up with excuses.
Doing what you hate the most first, Will knock it out, And you'll have more enjoyable tasks the rest of the day, which will make it easier for you to feel better about what you are doing. You will be more likely to accomplish ALL Of your tasks instead of just some!
pexels-photo-301943.jpeg

Ask for Help!

Don't be afraid to ask for help when you feel too overwhelmed. I recently had to start hiring some designers to help me get T-shirts done. Because I just had too much on my plate. There is nothing wrong with that. Sometimes our goals too big, and we can't possibly accomplish everything in our lifetime. But sometimes we can get others to help us out!


Sort:  

Good advice. I can't even walk and chew gum at the same time, so no chance of me multitasking. lol

LMAO! That is way funny haha.

Amazing article ♡ I have noticed that when you are multitasking you are actually less effective than doing it slow and at the end you get erased mentally.

Exactly! Then you also get really forgetful hehe.

It is because you use only the frontal cortex of the brain and there is a neuro stagnation from the other centers. After a while when you stop, the rest starts to kick in and life starts flowing.
By the way I'm startig a series named where people can leave me a topic to discuss from a mystics point of view, I would love it if you can leave a topic for me, it would mean a lot and Il have a blast thinking about it.
All the best
Goldie ♡

What I think I could do at multitasking......


What I actually could do in multitasking......
Still I think we should focus on a single task and avoid brain damage due to multitasking. Great article.

SOOO True hahahhaha I LOVE this so much hahaha.

I was feeling pretty good about my multitasking skills, but I think you're right, it takes more time! I am good at getting my least favorite thing done first, but no so much with staying on task all day. I need to more organized like you!

Aww! It takes practice :) You'll get there.

Me gusto. I like to do something similar when I'm playing poker and writing; I switch my full attention back and forth. I've learned to give a short burst of my full attention to a certain task. Therefore it may seem I am multitasking, a bit, in reality, I'm doing each task one by one.

Heheh exactly! I'm glad you started doing that.

I feel like an asshole if I pause when I'm speaking if someone goes for their phone for something, I get in my head like I'm a dick for thinking the person can't do two things at once, but it only feels that way. I rather be patient and speak with the person fully there than just keep talking while they are half there.

🍒 You really do amaze me, I've read a lot of your articles and usually you say something that I can relate to, something that happens to me, for example, just now I was trying to get a bunch of stuff done at the same time, so I'm just jumping from one thing to another and I was starting to feel pressured and stressed out, so my method is not working out at all. Then all of a sudden, I stumble upon your article, like a message from the universe telling me a need to change the way I do things, best of all you are giving me a clear solution, you really are God send, Thank you!


PS: I also work with a lot of windows open :D

Awww Thank you!! you are so sweet hehe. I try to relate and give good advice hehe :)
I hope I can help you develop more positive habits in your life.

Excellent post. I was becoming bored with too many tasks, but I'll apply your suggestions here.

@kaylinart, thanks for this.

true! every thing needs to be fully payed attention to and multyasking is what causes accidents...

A little bit multitasking is ok, but multitasking should not be normality.

Remarkable post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66603.07
ETH 3335.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70