I'm A Woman Who Shaves My Face! (Review)

in #life8 years ago (edited)

So I got my order from Dollar Shave Club

I already wrote a post about shaving, and how to save money. But I felt that it was unfair that I brought up "Dollar Shave Club" but I didn't try the product. I've heard a lot of good things about it, But I decided to place my order and find out if it's that good, and price friendly as they make it seem.

How To Save Money On Shaving

I am a hairy woman, I grow thick black hair all over, and it grows quickly. I spend 6.00 a year on razors Because I'm good at saving my money. I shave my whole body 2-3 times a week, Year Round.

I encourage you to check out my other post
Make Shaving Less Freaking Expensive

Dollar Shave Club

I ordered the Medium priced order. The 18.00 one. ( The Brilliant Bundle)

The goal for this company is for you to have a fresh blade to use every week, And for it to be delivered once a month.
So you get

  • Cleanliness
    and
  • Convenience.
    My "cheapskate" methods. Can't compete with that, Because you have to do more to take care of your blade. Which can be time consuming, You also have to price shop to get the best-priced blades.

I got the 4x pack,

  • Four blades
  • A durable metal handle
  • Shave Butter 6 oz
  • Post shave cream 3.5 oz
    This cost me 18.00, Part of the plan; you only get the extra stuff for the first month.

Every month after this, I have to pay 6.00 for an additional four blades! SO I pay 0.66 per blade. 72.00 a year in blades, (If I change my blade weekly.)
They also have plans for 9.00 a month, For a blade with six blades on it,
As well as a plan for 1.00 a month +2 Shipping and handing, For a twin blade pack. (5 cartridges)
The 6.00 and 9.00 plan ship free.

A photo of a Gillette fusion next to the Dollar shave club blade, The Fusion is used Obviously.

The Product Quality

The reason I typically use Venus Gillette blades over dollar store blades, Is I CARE about quality. I love to save money, But in shaving, I see quality important to me. I don't want to ruin my skin!

The blade works well, I got a close shave, My legs are a tad bit irritated, but maybe I used a bit too much pressure. The shaving stuff came with shave butter, which was oddly thin, But effective (I'm used to using coconut oil).
The after shave stuff was like a light lotion; It worked okay, But not the best. I prefer my coconut oil, Or shea butter.

I used the blade on my face, Armpits and legs and arms, The blade doesn't bend very easily and I had a bit of trouble shaving behind my leg.

Because most men shave their faces, I felt it was necessary to talk about face shaving.
I am a woman, so I only get "peach fuzz" So I can't give you a really good review on that. But I found it easy to navigate my face. And shave off the peach fuzz, I shave my face about once a month. I can't stand having "peach fuzz" so I choose to remove it, Even though that is not popular opinion.

My Verdict

I love these blades, If you are looking for convenience here is your option! It's relatively cheap too, and you can apply the rules in my other article to make your blades last longer, That way it will be more cost effective. I have high respect overall for Dollar Shave Club

They are a newer company, and I feel like they are laying a good foundation for future sales.

Make Products for women

While I am a woman, and the products work for me too. The website is very masculine. The products are also masculine.

The products have mostly natural ingredients, and I like that! The scent of the shave butter was weak, but it smelled of like a barley smell. The after shave didn't smell like anything, but lotion.

I feel like they could make a second website for us women, Offer some brighter razor colors, Give us more feminine smells! That way they could expand their reach.

If you are looking for reasonably priced blades, and convenience I think Dollar Shave Club is a good option!

Sort:  

You're awesome! A lot of women shave, but feel uncomfortable talking about it. Thank you for sharing this. :)

No problem ! Steemit has definelty made me more open about talking about stuff.

Gorgeous even with a stache :)

Aww thank you :) Maybe I should of drew one on with eyeliner.

you are the artist.

You should try a Braun Epilator and you will throw the razor away

I'll have to look into it! Thank you for the tip :)

YOU ARE FAT KAYLINN,
FAT
do YOU UNDERSTAND FAT LADIES DO NOT ATTRACT NICE GUYS?

Always good to remember, we all used to be fur-covered
(and some of us probably will be again in the future...)

Society tries to push us towards an elfin ideal, but we're fancy apes after all :)
A little face-fur is a gentle reminder of our roots.

Also, it's hilarious that they just keep adding more blades to those things!

They do ! Its pretty amazing!

On your knees please:

not working kaylinn, try something else

It dosnt matter how stylishly you ask to be excused from shaving,
people DONT CARE

All my love to you

flagged under the concept of giving feminism a bad name

Plus let me tell you this, given that you're so bold,
it doesnt matter the amount of hair you have in your body
when you are fat

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44