Hacks To Make SHAVING LESS FREAKING EXPENSIVE!

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Most of us have to shave on a regular basis, Some of us may be lucky and don't grow enough hair, So we don't have to shave. But many of us do, Men and women.
Shaving is SUPER EXPENSIVE. You can always buy those single disposable blades, But if you are like me, You probably like the multiple blades. Like the Venus brands or Gillette.

On Walmarts An eight pack of blades can run you over $21.00 USD

For most people who change their blade weekly, That mean they are paying 10.50 a month in shaving blades, (126.00 a year) That doesn't include taxes, Shaving cream or other needs you may have!
My Goal for this article is to teach you some ways to save money on shaving. Although these tips are NOT for everyone. Some people may feel uncomfortable with some of these, But I'm sharing them anyway. Hopefully, I can help you save your money.

BUYING

You need to change the way you buy your razors. Going to the store is going to waste your money Unless you have a hidden gem store in your area that sells them dirt cheap!

Ebay

I love eBay; They have such great prices! Sometimes I'll go on Ebay to buy in bulk. Shaving razors are much less expensive, and if you aren't picky about the type of blade you can save a TON OF MONEY! I think the people selling the razors on eBay; Either are those crazy couponers you see. And they can pass the savings to you, Or they have re-sell permission directly from the company, Either way, you can use this to save a ton of money!

Amazon

I wish I could recommend Amazon as a great way to save money on razors, But I cannot. It's an OKAY way. But the prices seem much higher than from eBay. So I'd avoid Amazon.

Listia

Listia is a website similar to Ebay, It also seems similar to Steemit, Because they operate using what they call Credits instead of cash.
They sometimes don't have a big selection of items, But if you check back regularly, you can score a great deal on shaving razors.

Tip: Selling gift cards is the best way to rack up the credit funds. List an Amazon gift card or another card for maximum savings.

Dollar Shaving Club

I have not used Dollar Shaving Club, But I know a ton of people swear by it! While if you are picky on the brands you use, then this may not be a good option. But at the same time, I have heard NOTHING BUT GOOD things about their razors. If you are looking for convenience then this will also work for you, They will send you four cartridges monthly.
They even have bonus's like butter and creams. You can get this deal for as low as 3.00 A month, (Including Shipping).


To give you guys a better idea, I decided to subscribe so I can leave an in-depth review of my experience. This won't be available for a while, But follow me, And you can see it later.

The prices look pretty good, If the blades are really good quality then This actually might be the best deal out there, From what I'm seeing on the site, It looks easy to cancel too.

Consider a safety razor

To be honest, I'm terrified of these things. Safety razors last forever, you can potentially save hundreds if not thousands of dollars using these. They are made of stainless steel.

  • Better for the environment
  • Don't need replacements
  • HUGE LEARNING CURVE TO USE.
    The thought of cutting myself while shaving is scary. These take practice; These are old fashioned. Be extremely careful if you decide to go this route. Watch a TON OF VIDEOS.

WOMEN DON'T BE AFRAID TO USE MEN RAZORS

And vise versa. They are pretty much the same. Men's razors sometimes work even better. Sure you may have to have a blue or black blade instead of a pink one, But who cares!

TAKE CARE OF YOUR BLADES, MAKE THEM LAST LONGER

From what I've seen, many people go through 1 blade a day or use one blade a week. This adds up quickly.

Usually, I change my "disposable blade" One every 4-8 months.
So I only use 2-3 disposable blades PER YEAR! That means I spend only 4.85 for blades PER YEAR!

HOW!?

I take care of it!
But also, This isn't the most sanitary way to do things; I feel like people will shake their heads at me in disgust.
I'm a "hairy" woman. I grow relatively thick black hair all over. I'm not saying I look like a gorilla. But I'm not one of those lucky peach fuzz women either.
I also shave EVERY INCH of my body. Literally. I shave my arms, legs, toes, Every other place you can think of LOL!
I still manage to spend so little on blades, If you grow less hair on me, you might be able to save a lot more.

Clean your blade after use

This sounds self-explanatory, But you'll need to clean it after every shave, And heck even while shaving.
If you are in the shower Use the shower head to "blast" the hairs from both sides, effectively removing the hair and the cream.

  • Use antibacterial soap, Spray or rubbing alcohol.
    When finished shaving, This will kill any bacteria you put on it, from ingrown hairs, cuts, and other stuff. It will keep your blade clean, so it doesn't cause you harm later or infection.

  • Gently dry your blade with a towel,
    You want to keep it dry to prevent rusting.

  • Apply oil to your blade
    If you store your razor in the bathroom, It can be exposed to humidity. I have a small plastic case outside the shower that I store my blade in. You can oil it with coconut oil, Olive oil or any shaving oils you see. Even baby oil. Just make sure the oil you use is safe the skin!

Deep clean/sharpen the blade

I don't think it actually "sharpens" the blade, But a lot of people claim it does. When you are done using, Take a small leftover piece of denim from an old outfit. (you can cut off a square to keep in the shower) And scrape the blade against the denim. This removes small particles that weren't coming out during the initial spray of the shower head, It makes your blade work 10x better! This makes a HUGE DIFFERENCE.

Trim your hair before shaving

If you have a lot of hair to shave, Try and trim it with scissors before using your blade. This will prevent your blade from doing too much work.

I hope these money saving tips helped you out!

Cutting expenses in small areas like these, Makes a HUGE difference over time on your wallet. Try to incorporate new things into your life to save money

Thank you Unsplash and Morguefile For the great photos

Sort:  

I can't tell you how much we have saved by just brewing our own coffee over the years! It's amazing how much a Starbucks or Dunks every day ends up costing in the long run. Our coffee is way better too!

Another hack that works for me that I learned from Jeffery Tucker, is ditching shaving cream. It irritated my skin, and I always thought it helped. I ditched it a ways back, and now just use water, and I get closer shaves, better skin, and save a few more bucks a year. Plus I think I go through blades a little slower. Every little bit helps! :)

Very true. Buying myself a Kurig, and the re-usable insert, was an investment that has paid for itself. Plus i can get any brand coffee I want.

That is so awesome! I'm glad they have those reusable stuff. I love investments that pay for themselves.

Loading...

Nice move ditching the shaving cream :) If in doubt, I would tend to assume any health and beauty accessory is a myth that we just got used to and don't really need.

I'm in the lunatic fringe with this stuff and don't even use shampoo. I implore everyone to try it, and give it a solid month or a few months. You just don't need it when your hair stops depending on it.

Cavemen didn't have no shampoo. There's no reason our hair needs some sort of bottled product to be healthy. (Quite the opposite, it's probably making it less healthy.)

(I posted this from Starbucks tho so what do I know)

I've had friends recommend this as well. Maybe I'll try it some day, but I like my shampoo too much to stop now :D

Get the heck out of Starbucks and start brewing your own coffee by the way. You'll thank me later.

Wow just water!? I use coconut oil, It's cheaper than shaving cream, But it works great too.
Thats good that you've found other ways to save money!

Brewing your own coffee is an AMAZING way to save money too! I heard it's supposed to cost like 10 cents or less if you brew it yourself. I guess the creamer is the most expensive part lol.

Yea the creamer gets you every time XD

I think we figured out it costs both @missjessica and I about $.50 a day total for up to 40 oz of coffee each. We also brew it for the whole week and keep it in the fridge so we have ice coffee at all times. I couldn't survive without it in the summer.

I also was real skeptical about using just water, but I trusted Mr. Tucker and went for it and was shocked with the results. It felt like I was lied to my whole life. Never looked back. People often ask how I don't cut myself, but I used to cut myself waaay more with shaving cream. I almost never get any nicks now.

Exactly! Unless you like drinking it plain, Which I'm not to that point yet lol.
Holy cow!! That sounds amazing! 40oz for 0.50 that is such a good deal!

Wow! I should try that. I know I've done it before, But didn't get cut luckily ! I just feel like it dries my skin out if I don't use the coconut oil, I'll try it again and put coconut oil on after lol.

Everyone's skins different, but it works for me so I'm not complaining, especially with my stack of ones that I save every year by not buying shaving cream XD

Go for it with the coffee! We had some friends suggest it a long time ago, but we never really followed through with it, and then one day we flipped that switch and it really has to save us almost $2500 a year!

We also got an espresso machine to "treat" ourselves to fancy coffees, because we noticed we'd still go out and get lattes, so it was kind of defeating the purpose of what we were doing. That is really what sealed the deal and now we probably go out and get coffees at a store maybe once a month if we're on the road together for something.

Thats a great idea @derekareith You have to spoil yourself sometimes.
I like that you look for new ways to save money like I do! Saving money is so fun! And it adds up quickly. I wish I had an Espresso machine! I love espressos.

Loading...
Loading...

OK, I saw the title, then started reading the story. I thought you may have forgotten the "h" in shaving! But I could see that either word could've worked there lol...

HAHAH ! That is so awesome
Saving
Shaving
GEEZ! I never noticed those words are like exactly the same.

Oh, so it WAS wrong! You're welcome.

Yes XD
Thank you @Taoofsatoshi
You saved my post! Lol.

Don't you mean I shaved your post? ;-)

OOPS I meant Shaving, Not saving. How did I screw that up ! Dang it. I edited it.

Oh my gosh @taoofsatoshi you are so funny hahah. Shaved. You shaved my post.

see my -1rating I have thanx to @kaylin you must be proud that your steemit community goes out of their way to cencor people! good for you!

As a person that had loaned out money on Bitfinex that I considered savings, this headline confused me. How could a hack reduce the costs of my savings.

I read an embarrassing amount into the post before I realised it was meant to say 'shaving'

Yes! Sorry about that, I just fixed it. I feel like such a dumb dumb for making that mistake lol.

Every time I see a post from you I auto up vote. Than go back and read them when I have more time to enjoy them. They are great to read and you never failed me. :) Keep it up.

Thank you :) I'm so glad to hear that! I spend a TON of time on here everyday hehe!

Loading...
Loading...
Loading...
Loading...
Loading...
Loading...

I buy the store brand of razors. It's about the same as your eBay price.

That is good! Are they really good quality too? I haven't used that.

Yes, just as good as Gillette but not as pretty because of no branding. :)

I'll have to try those! I don't really care about the branding, just the quality hehe.

I guess the ultimate hack is still living with your parents!!!!!

LOL so true! I still live with my parents too, But I buy all my own stuff, including food. But that lack of rent sure is nice!

I spend $325 monthly to rent a medium size house in a gated community in the tropics near to the beach within a large city in Asia, not including utilities. Rent is only a a fifth of my monthly burn rate.

Loading...

My trick? I don't shave :D

The safety razor is the way to go and imo the only move in shaving. :)

I suppose it takes a little getting used to, but I definitely didn't feel like I needed to watch instructional videos and stuff. Just take it easy and get the feel for it. I shave in the shower so maybe that's my secret.

I've heard the single blade is the right way to shave, and that the multi-blades are just a marketing gimmick to sell more expensive stuff, and doesn't actually help the shaving process. Story seems to checkout in my mind.

I've never cut myself except when I stupidly put it in my backpack with the blade in tact and reach around into my stuff and get bit :p

I actually find the single blade safety razor to be pretty intuitive to use. I think the multi-blades kind of train you to shave differently than you should be, almost like it's a scrubbing process, and using the single blade you're more precisely shaving yourself.

Single blade ftw .. and like you say the savings is ridiculous .. You pay like $15-20 or whatever for the actual razor, which lasts forever if you want it to, and then replacement blades are under $10 for 100 of them

I can see why Gillette etc wanted to make shaving a more expensive thing .. It's nearly cost-free when you go safety razor.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56