Caffeinated Mints? What The Hell?!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

girl-2653058_960_720.jpg

For a while now, I've wanted to cut back my soda consumption. Which has been a bad addiction of mine for the last ten years! It sucks because I've gained weight as a result. But I've also managed to get it off and on, Without quitting soda.
Usually, I am incredible when it comes to willpower. But for some reason, soda seems to be a serious addiction and something I don't have much power over it, While other things in my life I have no problem with willpower as much.

I found Mints

I found these bizarre mints, and they have caffeine in them! One thing about quitting soda is I still need caffeine otherwise I'd get headaches and withdrawal symptoms. But Not only am I addicted to that But the carbonation and the sugar. So It makes it harder for me to quit. These mints are simple.
Only 20mg of caffeine. And you eat 5 for the cup of coffee worth. They are also really inexpensive. So by switching from soda to mints. Not only will I lose a ton of weight, Feel better and be healthier. But I'd also spend so much less money.
The nice thing about these mints not being too high in caffeine is you have more power on how much you are consuming. So if it's later in the day and I need a small pick me up, But nothing crazy serious I can just have 1, and I may not compromise my ability to sleep.

The Taste

I got the coffee ones, and the Regular ones and both of them are really good, I am now thinking about trying their fat burning and their sleepy ones.

My First Day

It was really easy to say no to soda for most of the day, I later started craving the sugar, and I plan to cut back initially and not do it cold turkey. So I let my self-have a mug of soda, But I saw something bizarre.
For the first few hours of my day, I had the mints. Nothing else. And I felt "Fresh" And good. I felt the energy and nothing weighing me down. I then noticed after I had my soda a few hours later that I felt weighed down and kinda crappy. I felt tired and didn't want to do anything.
I think the sugar as well as the other harmful ingredients in the soda causes me to feel kinda crappy. While the straight caffeine in the mints makes me feel good. Who knows, Maybe its' coincidence, But I plan to keep using the mints to see the results!
I also noticed the minty flavor helps me avoid soda Because it gives you that "Brushed teeth" feel. And Mountain dew tastes nasty after you brush your teeth! So While the mintiness lingered in my mouth, I found myself reaching for my water more often.

I plan to buy some flavored water to help with the "Sugar" aspect of the soda addiction. So when I feel the need for something sweet, I can grab a flavored water and drink that. That way I can move towards a life without "needing" soda and hopefully I won't have to suffer too much making the change.
69-80xx.png

Obviously Not for everyone.

When I looked on their Facebook page I got kind of annoyed, A lot of people were complaining that "they like the taste of coffee" and all this stuff. Well clearly if you love your morning coffee and don't care to change, Then this product isn't for you. But for someone like me looking to save some time, (making my soda, Hauling soda around And buying Co2 and syrup bottles each day is time-consuming and expensive)
And save money, This product can help a lot of people.
This can even help you quit caffeine altogether if this is what you are going for!

If not drinking soda means, I'm addicted to having a mint every day, Then so be it! Less sugar, less money. It will overall improve my life. Plus I can easily travel with it! Woo hoo! No more getting off a plane, running to the nearest gas station or grocery store because I desperately need my "fix." Or when I was in San Francisco, and I ran out of soda, So I walked 4 miles in one direction looking for a store and couldn't find one.
I hope this works out Because these mints could change my life.

Note: I am in no way affiliated with Essential Mints, I just tried it and am excited about the product and wanted to share it with you guys!

The mints can be found on this Website Or on Amazon


U5drBu9TLeqefSZCkckx4hetbgXAhHG_1680x8400.pngU5dsPutnTkgsKTGGvXZgkVLbedrFVim_1680x8400.pngU5du6Tg4LRagCMftytdJokqaJrouYou_1680x8400 (1).pngU5dszFNSZhy2tgQ1W7xAikndfzLTAFv_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Those mints are a perfect soda replacement. People never seem to realize the amount of sugar in a single soda. After some years the sugar leads to weight gain and all its associated ills like diabetes, high BP,stroke, cancer..the list is endless. Happy for you that you realized and stopped. Wishing you all the best- stay healthy dear :)

Exactly!! I hope this will be the end to my soda addiction.

If you want to stop drinking soda, I honestly think cold turkey is the best way. I used to drink lot of soda in the past. But only the idea of a coke is nasty now... Btw, those mints probably have a lot of sugars in it as well (though yeah, 1 mint a day would still be better than a couple of soda's).

They do have sugar, But it doesn't seem to bad 4 grams per mint.
For me cold turkey doesn't work, Because as soon as I get stressed out or have a lot on my plate. It's easy to fall back on the old soda habit, Usually without thinking about it. Having a replacement and slowly cutting back so I don't notice as much seems to work.

U know urself the best ;) I just think you never get rid of the taste and urge to drink if you take one a day(s).

I agree with that! But I hope If I add more water to my day. that I'll be too full for soda. haha.

Good on ya!! Cold turkey is the best method. (Like me and facebook :))

Right? I see the benefits to both things! Sometimes you have to do cold turkey! But this is a hard one for me haha. I'm glad you cut back your Facebook habit Amirl that can be a bad one.

I just substitute green tea with soda, works well for me, plus i've lost a lot of weight as well

Wow! I love that! I need to do that. I think at first the less sweetness of it will throw me off.

Yerba Mate tea is a great replacement. For me it was "the one"

Yeah, it works really well and speeds up your metabolism and makes you lose more weight. I lost over 15 pounds

They sound like a good choice but I won't be giving up my coffee. I have been drinking coffee for 54 years.

I don't blame you! I like coffee too, But i'm not addicted to it in the same way as soda. Plus coffee does have health benefits and can be really good for you. I tried getting myself addicted to coffee instead of soda, But it didn't work. I think I just really like the carbonation.

IKR... I'm addicted to caffine too and most of the time I drink coffee as I need a sharp mind for work. Will try out these mints!

I've been living the Keto lifestyle for about a month now and I can honestly say that I no longer have any sugar cravings. However, I do have a Diet Mountain Dew once in a while. There are different opinions about diet soda, but DMD is the closest I've found to the sugar version.

@kaylinart, you will be way better off long term by dropping soda altogether. That's my goal by the end of this year. Good luck and keep on Steemin on!

Any foods was contain caffeine can make a person insomnia, this is the result of caffeine, I also have been coffee opiate for 4 years. As if my spirit was replaced by a weasel.

i have read that soda could give you some bad health probelm. it is nice you have found a way to deal with it.
i hadly having mint, but i tried the mint tea and it taste good. 😃😃

Sugar IS addicting. I saw a study with lab-rats where they purposely got 100 rats addicted to cocaine-laced water. When they added sugar-water to the experiment, 93% of the rats switched over to sugar-water, exclusively. It really made me think... Go into ANY store in the U.S. Look around. 98% of everything in the store has added sugar. Why so much sugar in everything? Why so much cancer and autism and diabetes??? Who's making a $#!t-Ton of money from these kinds of things? Does our government collude with big business to make it so??? It's an honest question to ask. The answer is actually pretty scary.

Caffeine and aspirin, mixed together in the right amounts, has proven to be one of the very best ways to get me through a difficult shift at work - in the past. I only used this method when I was sick, but still had to go to work. It is excellent for joint pain.

Cool thing there with the mints. IDK if I need any more sugar and caffiene. The problem sometimes ends up being that you just start providing yourself with one more avenue of pursuing your addiction. If you can use it to taper-off, that's great. Just don't kid yourself that it's "better for you," if you're not actually cutting down the amount of your overall intake.

The coffee ones are the best

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56482.82
ETH 3004.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21