The Indian Prayer: My daughter found a "bean bag" on the beach. Hint: it wasn't a bean bag.

in #life7 years ago

My daughter is forever bringing home peculiar things from the beach. Once she found some tiny balls filled with a pink powder, and i was about to head to the police station with them until a google search revealed they were actually powder bullets, stink! Every where we went, she would find money, maybe it's the advantage of being so close to the ground and having even more chance of seeing that sparkle from the coins.

maxresdefault.jpg
Aum
Today, though! She found a "bean bag" A tiny hand made looking bean bag. I wasn't even aware she had it until we were on our way home. I told her it didn't feel like a bean bag, and that when we get home i'll cut it open to make sure it's safe for her. "it's treasure Mum" - Yeah right I scoffed, with that amazing adult skepticism, who do I think I am anyway?

Untitled design (36).jpg

As promised, i lay it on a towel, in case something weird was inside, and cut it open. First I noticed the red tie & realized it was a parcel. I did stop for a while, I wasn't sure what was going to be inside, and I wasn't sure if I wanted to know. Drugs? Rotten food? My mother mentioned maybe someone had a miscarriage & sent it in to the ocean with prayer, i mean wow- At that point i had to tell my daughter to look away while I opened it as I felt sick just thinking about it. But I had to proceed, we were too far in. My heart was pounding while trying to open it, I didn't wan't to cut anything that was inside, but it was really tightly packed with tape, so i did my best with cutting the edge.... "herbs"? I said, as the first part was opened.

sticker,375x360-bg,ffffff.u2.png

I was not expecting what was inside. I thought maybe if i opened it, I could find the owner & re-package & return it. I don't know what I was thinking. At first the writing on the front just looked like an address. But it didn't make sense that it had been sewn shut. Then i noticed the OM words down the side. It's a PRAYER!!

27658659_10210797553684486_547581100_n.jpg

At this point, as you can see - it was looking more & more like something I shouldn't be fucking with. nevertheless , I am a curious banana so all had to proceed. After a few layers of paper were peeled back, I owed my daughter an apology.

Treasure!

27658264_10210797555284526_342047588_n.jpg

27658415_10210797554364503_382761092_n.jpg

27658757_10210797554684511_1207722880_n.jpg

The overall feeling from it was really lovely, however I stopped messing with it there and we wrapped it back up with some fresh fabric & sewed it back together.

27659019_10210797555164523_476274795_n.jpg

27661284_10210797554884516_592983077_n.jpg

We are planning on returning it the ocean, but if anyone knows what the protocol is around this kind of thing, please let me know! Or if you know what the prayer says, or the meaning behind the parcel, please share with me. It was the last thing I was expecting to be in a "bean bag" I feel really bad about opening something so special, so I'd like to do the right thing with it.

images.png

Sort:  

Man I am so glad I caught this post before it was too late to resteem.. I agree with @alao on this one. I feel things cross our paths for a purpose with a purpose. I never heard if anything associated with OM as being anything "bad/dangerous". And I think you mentioning the good vibes you felt was confirmation It was just what your daughter said it was, "treasure".

I seriously still feel shook by it lol. I haven't let go of it yet, there's something I need to do with it first, but it was definitely a really nice find by my daughter. Thank you @the21plus xxx

Wow looks like you are part of it's journey. This is pretty cool!!!

Yes! I was really stunned at what was inside it. Thanks @alao

Wow, could possibly have been for someone that was deceased... Possibly be some of their belongings, or belongings of loved ones that they had that reminded them of that person. Also, could be a "binding".

I don't know the specifics of what the purpose was, but I would just do a little prayer, mediation, etc. that whatever the original intent was, that it be carried out, and then give it back to the sea.

So awesome by the way, and awesome for you to go through all the extra trouble to sew it back together and stuff.

give it back to the sea.

So awesome

I have definitely done some little prayers for it, thanks for the lovely comment x

Oh my gosh you opened it!! It freaked me out just reading this!!! What if it's a curse. Not saying it is, and I don't necessarily believe in that kind of stuff but I do pull over if a black cat crosses my path and let another car go first
and then I proceed🤪 Just a wee bit superstitious.

Hehe! I didn't get that type of feeling with it. I am going to look more in to the meaning of the prayer though. I think it may be buddhism? It's some kind of prayer. I felt refief when i saw it as it wasn't creepy at all, like i thought it would be. I'd love if someone on Steemit knew what is was!

Wow, that is like something out of a story book. Well hopefully you were covered by whatever that prayer had in store for the finder.

This is the great story & famous writing.We can learn many things from this post.It's an educative value for us.
Thanks @kaykunoichi for sharing.
@Eesteem,upvote & follow has been done.

You got a 22.45% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @alao!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63237.60
ETH 2647.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81