New Year, New Writing Project...

in #life6 years ago (edited)

2018 project is to split my novels into YA novellas.

 

Darla book link 

My books started out just as a hobby at first. 

I have read a number of supernatural book, fantasy books and sci friction over the years and some inspired me to write different endings or expand on the characters. 

Dune by Frank Herbert was one of my favourites. I enjoyed exploring the idea of Paul Atreides falling in love with Princess Irulan. Or what adventures Duncan Idaho would have. 

But I didn't really start writing my vampire books until I had become fed up with the vampire romance on the market and so decided to write my own.



I started writing my vampire tale round my vampire character in a FB game called Vampire The Darkside.  It was really just giving her a back story, but very quickly Darla The Deadly's tale began to turn into an obsession. 

By late 2014 I had a very long story upon my hard drive over 300,000 words and I decided it was time to do something with it.

Over that year I split it down into three book and then started editing book one ready for self publishing on Amazon. 

May 2015 Letalis Vindicta was ready to go live. 

It was a massive 165,000 words long.

October 2015 Letalis War was ready (108,000).


By May 2016 The Letalis Trinity was ready. (113,000).


The trilogy uploaded to Amazon I began writing my follow on books and marketing the three completed books. Back in July 2017 I join steemit and have shared a number of my short  stories with the community. January 2018 I just completed book 4, which is a werewolf book and is with my editor at the moment.

 I hope to self publish book 4 soon and also plan to send it of to the Romance Novelist Association. 

But while I wait for book 4 to come back. I have started a new project and one I am very excited about.

Letalis Vindicta was my first book and looking back three years on, I feel it might work better split down into YA novellas. 

This really stemmed from my 13 year old daughter asking me if she could read my book and I having to say no as it had rude bits in it. The truth is apart from a few mild sex scene, the book is easy reading and I feel she would enjoy it.

So I have set about cutting out the sex scenes and toning down the language and I think with a bit of re writing I can make a nice 4 novella series out of it. 

I have just finished novella one (Darla) and I am excited to start Novella two on Monday.

I will keep you up to date with my journey as it unfolds. 



Sort:  

Darla The Deadly? I seem to remember her...

Erzebet.

Oh DTD is very old now and sired lots a lovely children of the night.
Does Erzebet still walk the darkside from time to time or did she retire to her crypt?

I see two commenters but neither upvoted?

upvoted and resteemed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14