Black Outs and how quickly you forget them again

in #life5 years ago

Last week one of my friends send me a text with that he wasn't having any electricity anymore due to a snowstorm. Currently in the Alps this is happening a lot more because of an extreme snow situation and quite often small villages are the first to experience that the normal electricity lines aren't doing what they should do anymore.


Power Outs! And I don't mean the ones that you get after an Saturdaynight extravaganza. I mean nothing with electricity is working.



Src: Caribisch Netwerk

I was used to this situation while living in the Caribbean actually. In some periods of time, there would be multiple power outages a day, but not always the whole island. Just areas where 'load had to be shedded' as it was called. Better said: electricity peaks would not be able to be handeled so the whole system would just be should down. Welcome to the Caribbean! It would be something that you get used to over the years actually, and you would take your measures on it.


I would always have some external batteries hanging around somewhere, and candles flashlights and even a generator after the big hurricane. Yes the AC and fan would be out so you would be sweating like a maniac but hey without current, there is actually no reason to do anything else than drink beer. And so we did!





But the text of my friend in combination with another newsthingy of that the island was in black out again, made me realize how lazy I myself have gotten in my comfortable position in the city. I see a few half burned out candles, no external battery and no flashlight when I look around me. All of this is not really a problem, but if I imagine a black out here in Switzerland if that would happen this second I would also be super aggravated. And most of all, unprepared.


Because most of all electricity is a product of luxury and not a matter of survival, until for instance when you look at you electrical stove and to your electrical heater and the snow outside in the combination of that. Then you also think about how much sweaters you can wear over each other to keep yourself warm, hahah.


But most of all, it is surprising how fast you fall back into old habits without even noticing! I am happy Steemit is also like a diary sometimes that I can write out my scribbled thoughts hahahaha

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Well maybe this works

in combination of the tesla powerwall and here you are... no problem at all

or .... attach something like this to it. 😎😈

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @karinxxl!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.309 which ranks you at #2539 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 5 places in the last three days (old rank 2544).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 248 contributions, your post is ranked at #162.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98