A powerfail on the mainland!

in #life6 years ago


Yesterday we had a powerfail here in the region where I am in the Netherlands. Nothing new you would say, because by now I should be super used to powerfails after all those years in Sint Martin.


Pexels

And I am, because we had all kinds of precautionary measures for dealing with not having electricity. I would have candles scattered throughout the house. I would have a a UPS battery connected to my router to keep some wifi going. I would even have a gasoline generator for when the power wasnt there for multiple days.

Coffee


Pexels

I even had a perculator coffee machine next to a normal coffee machine on electricity so I could boil water on the stove and still have some black gold. And a stove. Indeed a working stove. Because that was connected to a normal stand alone gasbottle, so cooking was never a problem without electricity.

44.500 households with no current

boll2yp5f6.jpg
Eindhovens Dagblad

So today here I was making coffee and nothing was working. But this house is not mine, so I initially thought that I was doing something wrong until I also noticed some digital clocks were not working. Everything was off. Okay cool, no problem. I got this, because I had it already so often before in the last couple of years.

But the fact is, I dont know too much in this house. And for instance the stove is keramic, so its needs electricity. Time for some other tasks. But most of those things required online researching, which I couldnt do haha.


Trafficlights

Pexels

So I did what I always did in Sint Martin when I was fed up with it. I would leave the house, and go to a place that DOES have electricity. Easy :) So same tactic here, but I saw that over a 5 km not a single traffic light was not working. And it was kind of chaotic on the road. Because people are used to traffic lights. I was thinking about how this was in Sint Martin and why this was never a problem. Ow yeah, we only had 1 trafficlight there ;))))

All in all

Here in the Netherlands we are not used to powerfails. At all. And this is something to consider about that if for some reason stuff would go south someday everything would be go to crap. Food for thought I guess.



Proud member of the SMG. Do you want to apply as well? Give it a shot on Discord or follow the SMG curation trail

Interested in Passive income? Try Swiftcoin and Mannabase

Sort:  

Lijkt wel een "doomsday"prepper"daar. Baterijen voor je modem/router. etc.. Hmm misschien moet ik ook is wat voorbereidingen treffen.

Nou een beetje wat dingen hebben voor als er ineens effe wat niet werkt is niet gek. Voorbeeld. Stel je drinkwater is ineens gecontamineerd met iets, wellicht is het niet gek om eens wat flessen in huis te hebben.

Ik had voor de orkaan een hele verzameling water in Sint Maarten. Maar toen alles weer normaal was en mn water er een keer afging voor een aantal dagen, was ik blijkbaar weer dezelfde lapzwans geweest en had ik niks meer.

Ja precies je weet het maar nooit..

Haha, grappige vergelijking inderdaad, we zijn er hier helemaal niet op voorbereid! :D Maar gelukkig heb ik altijd zo'n percolator om koffie mee te zetten! Oh wacht... Mijn gasfornuis is ook elektrisch. Nee, ik ben gewoon de l*l als de stroom uitvalt ;-)

Precies! Zulke dingen heb je helemaal niet in de gaten stiekem eigenlijk hoe afhankelijk we eigenlijk zijn.

Ik zie je al staan met een aanstekertje :D

When I lived in Indonesia the electricity went off often. The hardest thing was when we wanted to sleep and there was no air moving through our home. We would all lay down in the living room and rest on the tile floors.

I know how that feels. With no fan or no AC those nights in the tropics are not the easiest. And you turn out to be main course for moquitos then as well :)

Cool info :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by karinxxl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95