50 shades of gray

in #life6 years ago

I am beginning to remember some of the things I hated about Dutch weather. It is only coming back to be now because we had some really nice weeks with sunshine and I was really in my zone, even having some Caribbean vibes still with it.

But these last couple of days have been super dreadful to look outside. When you wake up the sky is gray, and when the sun goes down the sky is gray. It is not that the temperature is bad or anything, it is perfect to go outside and do stuff actually. But it is not inspiring to go outside.

x5ma13yeop.jpg

Because this grayness casts a blanket or boringness over everything. On my first day back in Europe I remember saying: ‘wow the sky is really blue today, this is not how I remember it. Normally it is always a bit hazy when the sky is blue’

Turns out that was a day where it was extremely clear, un-European clear.

Caribbean

Maybe that is even what makes the Caribbean so special. That on all normal days the colors outside are so super vibrant. The water is bluer than blue, the sky is blue than blue, and that makes the rest of the outside also more radiant. They same thing when you look at peoples clothing for instance. I always felt people were wearing a lot of colors there.

I am doubting now if they were actually wearing more colors, or it was just me feeling as if they were wearing more colors. And yes, it would rain there as well, and be gray as well. But that usually would not last longer than a couple of hours.

If you look at apps like Windguru and so you can see this in cloud coverage. This devides the coverage over low/middle/high. Is there is coverage in all three layers, it will be a gray day. But that is not often in the Caribbean. I would often get up with grey skies and pouring rain, and sit on the beach with not a single cloud just a couple hours later.

The Netherlands


Pexels, Mike Chai

In the Netherlands it is not like this (maybe if you live closer to the sea, but not in the South East where I am staying). Maybe you will have a ray of light break through these clouds somewhere during the days, but usually grey=grey.

It also feels a bit like the people are adding in this. Dark coats, dark pants. Why is this? And if I look at myself? Yeah maybe I also even wear more darker colors as that I do in the Caribbean. But not as much as most people, that I can say for sure.

Rain

Im not even talking about rain here. Because that is a whole different ball game. While having rain in the Caribbean is perfect to take a chill pill for a second, rain in Europe is so dreadful.
People here say the winter was so long this year. I can not imagine how I would have been in that.

Mountains


Pexels, Gabriela Palai

Yeah so I will be moving to the mountains shortly to a city on 422 meters of altitude. A lake is surrounding it. This could turn out awesome in my journey against greyness or turn out disastrous. Because clouds often hang in between mountains. But at least we will have some contrast of the mountains in the back to have more background.

Im curious! Lets wait and see!



Proud member of the SMG. Do you want to apply as well? Give it a shot on Discord or follow the SMG curation trail

Interested in Passive income? Try Swiftcoin and Mannabase
Sort:  

It is funny how people in my country want to travel and experience te cold while in your country you want to experience more warmth.

In Nigeria, I would describe our weather as tropical. We are i the rainy season now but the sun still comes out to play.

My favorite weather is the harmattan season. It is a dry season, hot and cold at the same time. lol

Hot and cold sounds perfect! Yeah as I say, I dont even mind the temperature so much, but more that everything is so gray is so damn depressing man.

Super happy the sun came out today, immediately everything is better

Cool! Thank God the sun came out!

I sooooooo understand you!
The Dutch weather is the first reason why I moved. I won't say the grey weather is depressing, but the opposite is certainly true: Sunny weather uplifts your mood.

Btw: Since living in the sun my interest in getting tanned is totally gone. Yours too?

That is super funny you mention it. When living in sint martin I didnt have any interest in tanning anymore because it was
A too hot
B i would get my dosage of sun just from walking outside with the dog and that was enough

And now as I am in Netherlands,...I was just lying in the sun because the sky opened up hahahahahaha.You just need more vitamine Z here for real

I do believe that people in the southern hemisphere do wear brighter clothes. They also brighter colours on their homes. I noticed this when I went back to Canada for a visit 2 years ago. My clothing was definitely brighter in colour.

Right? See I wasnt just thinking of this, it is actually true. But it is strange...we should be wearing brighter clothes in more grey areas I guess

I have noticed this also! Sunny locations = brighter colors.
Hopefully in the mountains where you will be going you will see a good mix of sun and clouds, and it will be a better balance than you see right now. 😊

I truly hope so! Until that time I will use my bright spirit to get it going there ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80