Is Life Fair?...A Reality Check.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

4 years ago my father suddenly died of a stroke at an age where he was just starting to enjoy his pension. After the stroke, he immediately slipped into a coma and passed away within 2 days. During these two very long days I would have traded everything I own for his life in return...really everything. But it was decided different. This event caused me to question our Creator how He could allow good people, who had done no major wrong doings in life, to leave so soon while others who have hurt many people reach 100 years! For 6 months I was very angry at God for taken away my "charger" I used so often whenever my energy level was dropping.

Man-Sitting-Alone.jpg

My father was a very respected police inspector for 35 years. One from the generation whereby honor, pride, integrity and respect were the key corner stones one needs in life. He was a person that was not impressed with material wealth and therefore did not collect material possessions in life. As he could not afford it to by a piece of property, he lived in his mothers house with his wife and my brother for 20 years.

His family are influenced by material wealth and influencial positions. The more you own, the better. The higher your position on the financial ladder, the greater. They are the kind of people that compare what they have with yours. Selfishness, arrogance, greed and jealousy are their main qualities in life. Since these qualities were lacking in my father's profile, they always despised him. But he could not care less. His family were his wife and children is what he always said. There were times where he longed for the love and warmth that only a mother or brother could give. But he never received it till the day he passed away. They all came for the cremation for the eye of people and six months after, his mother died too. I always asked myself whether they were succesful in taking with them their material possessions to Heaven.

moneyfight.jpg

After my father passed away, his wife and my brother continued living in my grandmother's house. Today my brother got a letter saying that both he and his mother must pack and move out of the house no later than tomorrow. They have no where to go, no family (as they were never accepted since they are poor) and no money. We will fight them in court starting upcoming Monday.

I was never accepted as part of their family as well...but for a different reason: "I am half Indian" and half Chinese. But growing up in a middle class family I got the opportunity to study. Today I have a very good position in our small society. Very hard for them to accept (jealousy)....funny isn't it?

It hurts everytime you are losing an unfair battle dominated by material wealth and influencial people who can pull lots of strings. We only have values and the strenght given by God as our weapons. But these fights tend to take long...at the end of the day we're human too. Getting tired and hurt at the same time.... sometimes it is so hard to see the light in the tunnel.

But just like everyone, we will keep carrying our cross sometimes alone, but often with friends who really care.

4487538384_cf76ce6155_z.jpg

Sort:  

I would like to thank all of you for upvoting and maybe some of you for resteeming as well. It means a lot to see that my story does have some kind of impact on you. As being a new member of your family, it is not so easy to be heard or noticed. But thanks to all of you, the OCD team and @howtostartablog for the support. I have written a follow up on this event if you're interested please visit https://steemit.com/life/@karinlvira/is-the-road-ahead-a-straight-one

No doubt, life is definitely unfair. Yet we have to continue the struggle or else we won't achieve success. By the way, do source the images in the post. :)

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

I accept you to share this post to others in need as a way to let them know that they are not alone. Yes and thanks for reminding me to put the source of the pictures!

Congratulations @karinlvira! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I believe that life is not fair at all because we can see and feel it for ourselves that life is a jungle, many dangers all around us especially for the disadvantaged and weak.

Yes, so true. But when I put aside all emotions triggered by the pitfalls in life, I do believe that everything happens for a reason. Even the unfair experiences. You probably will not understand what you and loved ones were spared for. Our mind is too limited to understand.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84