So many regrets, could have been rich if only we weren't so skint.

in #life7 years ago

I am 53, yeah its not that old, I still have time to do things but I still have a few regrets, things I wanted to do but never got round to it or never had faith in myself to do it.

I always wanted to take my girls to Disney land but there was always something else more important needed doing with what money we had or hubby would be laid off. I tried my hardest to save but never got there. I think my youngest would have loved it, she would have loved the time on the plane, she loved Disney films especially Aladdin, she loved princess's as for my older daughter who had ADHD she would have hated the plane, far to long for her, she is no good in crowds and hates change so would have been a difficult trip but missed out on some lovely memories.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Not carrying on with my British Sign Language courses, I hate having my picture taken and even worse when someone pulls out a video recorder. I passed my level 1 which was really hard but on level 2 I passed 2 parts failed 1, unfortunately the failed one was the video where I had to have a sign conversation with 2 people, I started off OK but then turned my head to see the video and my fingers wouldn't do what my head was telling them, I could understand them and knew what I wanted to say but my whole body went into panic, so don't know what I said to them.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Not sticking to a diet and losing m weight, not having to re-start a diet nearly every Monday, I lost all my weight after I had my first child, I exercised at home to a DVD everyday losing 3 stone in 3 months, I then got pregnant again then my knee went then I started to expand, the little me that has been fighting to get out has given up and gone to sleep. I have no fight left, when you have dieted all your life, all you eve think about is calories and fat there comes a time where you start to think that's it.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Not jumping over the wall that smashed my knee, my life would have been so different as I was heading off in a different direction but then I wouldn't have met Glen and wouldn't have my 2 daughters so I have to think maybe it was meant to happen.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hubby had a weekend job to do which he was going to make £50, at the time that would have been a massive help, he loved a bet on the horses and every Saturday he went round but this Saturday he couldn't and I couldn't go round as I wasn't allowed to take my daughter in and I was not leaving her outside. He even asked the man he was doing the job for is he could nip away for half an hour but he was a miserable old git and said no. If only we decided to not do the job he would have won nearly a million pounds with Dettori getting 7 winners, Glen wanted to back them all. Yeah we cried. Glen's mate backed them and won 3/4 of a million. Gutted


Thank you Pixabay


Thank you son-of-satire

Hi I am Karen, I am here to write about my life and read about yours.. If you like what you read please upvote and leave me a message so I can come visit youfollow me on Twitter
Sort:  

Look at the link @karenb54 and see who was the first Queen of Norway.

https://steemit.com/food/@jonas91/norwegian-food#@ramta/re-jonas91-re-karenb54-re-jonas91-norwegian-food-20170614t230534147z

Norway’s central bank has released new bank notes, which feature the national fish, the cod.
But that wasn’t enough, the central bank has also released a music video featuring the new design...


The old man with suit and binoculars at the start is the CEO of Norway’s central bank

Amazing song and music Cod Father lol :)

I think we all end up with lots of regrets in our lives, and that is only natural. I'm sorry for the things you missed, but try to look at the positive experiences you had instead ;)

Thank you. That's what I am focusing on, can't do anything about the other stuff now :)

Yeah, exactly. That's the spirit! I would have been extremely bitter about that million that was right under your noses myself, but at some point it's not worth being bitter about it anymore.

Karen, you are young, beautiful. You did what you had to do and all those incomplete projects you have with your family are on the verge of being fulfilled. Keep posting, keep up the positive attitude. It's ok to have regrets but not ok to let them in your life. WE THE STEEMIANS WILL TAKE YOUR KIDS TO DISNEY LAND 😍 😘. BE FREE!

Thank you I don't think they would go now with them being 25 and 19 but I would still like to experience it :)

The best thing my wife did to lose weight? Stop dieting.

It works wonders.

Just eat good food, not too much, not too little. She is not skinny, but she is happy and healthy.

Diets don't work. They never did. If they did everyone would be skinny by now.

So don't worry about the fat, worry about being happy. You don't get extra bonuses for being skinny when you die.

And don't focus too much on things you regret. Many things might be out of your control, or you had a decision to make and the other option turned out better. but you did the best you cold with the information and resources you had at the time.

That's what all of us do, even the millionaires (who regret they are not billionaires).

Focus on the things that make you happy, that give you a laugh, that make you feel good, and that's how you will view your life - as a good one.

I might be on the bones of my arse, but my wife says it's a nice arse so what have I got to complain about? hehehe

LOL well said, I have given up on dieting as it was the first thing I thought about on waking and the last thing at night, now I eat when I am hungry and stop when I am satisfied :)

Good on you! ;-)

Thank you :)

'A lost potential win is not a loss' Quote from a wise man in berlin...

Makes sense :)

Thank you, I have checked your post out :)

Thank you @sid31031992 I shall return the favour :)

Congratulations @karenb54! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you :)

Hi karen54 I can relate to your post. I also wanted to take my children to Disney world and the weight I'd rather not go there. Luckely you are still young and can still do lots. And after you did them you can post them on steemit!

Thank you. I have more chance getting to Disney land than losing my weight, it refuses to shift lol :)

LOL I believe we could still do both with some effort.

I am giving it a rest for a while, hopefully my body will be nice and start to shrink lol

In retrospective we all have a shitload of regrets, but let us trust that we did good, or at least tried, with what little we knew back then.

We make mistakes, and our mistakes make us - stronger and wiser-
:)

Thank you That is very true :)

There are always and there will be things to repent that cause remorse, but we must see that things happen for something and if everything was so perfect life would not be so fun, we must learn from our mistakes and repeat as many times as it is populationable the things we have Done well.
I wish you a beautiful day, my dear friend. @ Karenb54

I do think things happen for a reason, Thank you for the visit, have a lovely day :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80