SAVING A FEW PENNIES MAKES CHRISTMAS MORE MANAGEABLE, A DEBT FREE CHRISTMAS IS THE BEST WAY TO CELEBRATE.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

SANTA ARRIVES IN 12 DAYS

ARE YOU READY

I start saving for Christmas once Christmas is over, i find putting a little away each week makes Christmas more affordable as i then don't have to take out any credit, Christmas gets paid for with no debt to be paid once its over. Its more enjoyable with no debt hanging over your head.

Putting £10 away each week will give you £520 towards a debt free Christmas. I put away what I can each week, then save all my change putting £2 & £1 coins away into piggy banks and also putting all my loose change into a tin. I wait until the tins are full then take them to my bank t o be changed then put into my savings account.

savings.jpg

I started to do this when my hubby was a self employed bricklayer, he didn't get any holiday pay plus when the weather was bad he was sent home without pay meaning we could go weeks without a penny. It was really hard especially having little ones so I had to start doing something as living like that wasn't good. Even though hubby is on P.A.Y.E and gets paid holiday pay and paid if sent home due to the weather I still do this. I have reduced my debt so much by doing this plus stopped using credit cards and catalogues.

I used to say i was a spender, money used to burn a hole in my pocket when I was growing up, I would spend it as soon as I got paid. Now I have learnt to save and I love to see i have money in my account now, the older i get the tighter i get.

I have made my girls think the same way, don't take out loans, save for what you want, think before buying something you see, ask yourself do you really need/want this. If you see something you like or need always come home and do some research online to see if you can get what you want cheaper somewhere else.

Join a cashback site such as Quidco and use these for everything you buy, click on Quidco before buying, search the shops for what you are looking for and save money. You can cash out to your bank, Paypal or receive a voucher for your balance. It soon adds up.

quidco.jpg

As the saying goes Every little bit helps is so true. I don't always spend everything I have saved so some goes into the house savings after the New Year then I start again.
Remember what they say:

PENNIES MAKE POUNDS


Thank you @son-of-satire

Sort:  

I am like this also and I hope its going to be worth something as that saved money I put into Steem, so many people buy things they don't really need or ever use it's such a waste @karenb54

We learn so much getting older but the young ones don't want to listen.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Reminds me of my Grandmother, she had a different tin for each thing. Bread money was in the red tin, milk money in the tin by the door, so that it was close, etc,
She didn't believe in banks, the extra was in notes, in her bedroom, where a little boy wasn't allowed to go.

And i bet you were a good little boy and did as what you were told... haha

do what you are told, or, eat your tea standing because your bum was to sore to sit on.

Yeah remember that feeling haha

Awesome! I am trying to save too

You will love watching your savings grow:)

That is such a great idea dear friend.
And the beautiful thing is that you don't really feel the difference when you put little, by little away.

I used to do that when I was working and getting paid weekly.
The first thing I would do is put $50 away every payday and it adds up really fast.

I like to see the balance grow, its a nice feeling :)

Dear Karen, this seems like a great idea to me. I will start saving like this for next year

You will be surprised how quick it grows :)

I do not know if here in Venezuela works as much as there, but I will try

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46