“It is one of the blessings of old friends that you can afford to be stupid with them”. Friendship seen through my eyes.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

“It is one of the blessings of old friends that you can afford to be stupid with them” - Ralph Waldo Emerson.

I find this quote so charming yet somehow painfully true. This is exactly how I feel about long-term friendships or friendships that had its “trial” and managed to survive the difficulties.

2.jpeg
source

I am rather shy. However… I leave my comfort zone when I find myself in a situation that requires to go out and meet new people. This ability, learned with time I guess, is really helpful not only during travelling but also in everyday situations. I have many colleagues and acquaintances, in the English language those people would often be referred as “friends”, I guess. Is there another word that can be used as an alternative? Anyway, I know many people because I would say I am an open-minded, positive person who shares her energy with the outside world. We go out together and share funny moments. But there are little people who truly know me and who I can really call my “close friends”. That is my choice. I enjoy being a private person (so yes, writing a blog about myself and my travels ain’t a piece of cake for me ). And I like it that way. I cherish true friendship, and therefore I use the word “friendship”, just like “love” only when I really mean it. Those two words have a deeper and significant meaning to me.

1.jpg
source

“It is one of the blessings of old friends that you can afford to be stupid with them”. We all know this feeling I hope. It’s so important to have people who will love you not because, but despite! When we can actually be absolutely ourselves, without pretending, without wearing masks. Even if our brain or emotions aren’t in the best shape ;) When we can be vulnerable among someone else. Because life isn’t always fun. I would even say that life is teaching us lessons constantly, whether we like it or not. But it is up to us to take those lessons with humbleness and learn from them or just use them as yet another reason to complain! Another sensitive and beautiful person - Jim Morrison – said that “a friend is someone who gives you total freedom to be yourself”. That’s another way to express the same value that real friendship brings along.

3.jpg
source

I recently made an important decision to move to another country. Alone. Honestly, I will not pretend that it was easy. It was not. Don’t get me wrong, it is super exciting! But yes, I am still settling down and struggling to make myself at home. And you know what is, at least to me, the most difficult part in moving out from your home country? Leaving your family and close friends “behind”. I know I can always call them. But I cannot hug them. And hugging is important!! It is seriously one of my favourite things to do, haha Luckily now the new technologies allow you to see your loved ones, see the sparks or tears in their eyes. But still… It’s not the same.

4.jpeg
source

I think of myself as a fortunate person :) After moving in I met some beautiful people who have helped me and become close. I really would want them to stay and continue to be part of my life. ❤️ I also had some “difficult” experiences, but as I have written, life is giving us lessons to make us a better version of ourselves. The lessons that we need at that specific moment, and only because we can handle them. Each lesson makes us grow stronger.

For Cicero, one of the most acknowledged ancient thinkers (among others!), “friendship improves happiness and abates misery, by the doubling of our joy and the dividing of our grief”. Those words remain universal more than two thousand years later.

And what about travelling for the extended amount of time?
Travelling is an amazing experience. And an invaluable lesson, if only you are ready to learn things about yourself or your surroundings that may not always be pleasant. If you stay open-minded and are keen on meeting new people you will have a great time! You just have to step out of your comfort zone, stop thinking if you will make a fool out of yourself or that you may be judged by others.

5.jpg
source

During my four months journey, I meet not only interesting but also kind and beautiful people. I had a great time. But truth to be told I also had moments when I felt lonely. Or detached. When all I wanted was to be there for my close friend’s birthday or my family’s Sunday dinner. Just be there, with them, be present and experience their presence. ❤️ So simple and yet unachievable once when you are on a different continent.

I will leave you with a quote that I find simple and universal. It comes from Henri Nouwen, a XX century priest and applauded author of books about spirituality. “The friend who can be silent with us in a moment of despair or confusion, who can stay with us in an hour of grief and bereavement, who can tolerate not knowing... not healing, not curing... that is a friend who cares.”

Thank you for being here with me. I hope until next time!
Pura Vida and enjoy your journey! ❤

Sort:  

LIke is Empty without friends
With friends like is colorful and without friends life is colorless.

yes, this is a nice way to put it :)

Interesting And intriguing , it prove to show that true friendship is the panacea of being happy and truthful to each other without any pretense ..

nicely put:) thank you!

Great post! I agree 100%. Hint: There's a poster of Jim Morrison hanging on my wall and the quote you used to describe what friendship really is..is one of my favorites.

the poster is really moving! i love it! thank you:)

Good friends bring the best and real in us. It is nice you shared the benefits and comfort you said in your friendship.

thank you for sharing your point of view:)

Interesting post! Go through my blog and see my new content, greetings :D

Well, indeed it is true and its almost like you can touch that truth...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17