Which do you prefer: a Twix or a Snickers Bar?

in #life8 years ago (edited)

 

Continuing with the Halloween theme, I thought I'd do a post about one of the most important topics facing the world today... what is better; a Twix or a Snickers candy bar?  

My stepson and I were going through our candy from Halloween (yes I got some candy too), and I asked him if I could have his Twix bars since those were my favorite. He gladly obliged as he didn't care for those, but said he would like all my Snickers bars since those were his favorite. I gladly obliged as well since I didn't care too much for Snickers, at least not as much as I liked Twix. 

That got me thinking, are they really all that different? They are made by the same company with almost the same ingredients. Why do people tend to prefer one so strongly over the other? Lets take a look at some of the history of the two bars...  

Snickers Bar: 

 

"Snickers" is the brand name chocolate candy bar made by the company Mars. It consists of nougat (see def.) topped with caramel and peanuts, covered in milk chocolate. The Snickers bar has annual global sales in excess of $2B.  

What is nougat? 

"nougat is a concoction made with sugar or honey, roasted nuts (almonds, walnuts, pistachios, hazelnuts, and macadamia nuts are common), whipped egg whites, and sometimes chopped candied fruit."  

History:  

Mars introduced the Snickers bar in 1930. It was named after the favorite horse of the Mars family. The original bar weighed 62.5 grams. This weight was reduced in 2009 to 59 grams and then again in 2013 to 48 grams. The reduction in size could be for better profit margins or because of nutrition groups complaining about the bar's  lack of nutrition and consumption by youth's.  

Most Recent Slogan:  

"You're Not You When You're Hungry"  

In 2010 the advertising slogan "You're not you when you're hungry" was born. It was based around the premise that people don't act like themselves when they are hungry. The advertising campaign usually involved celebrities turning into other celebrities.  

Twix Bar:  

 

"Twix" is the brand name chocolate bar also made by Mars. It consists of a biscuit topped with caramel and coated with milk chocolate. There is also an additional thin layer of chocolate between the biscuit and the caramel. They are usually packaged in pairs, although single bite sized bars are also available.   

History:  

The Twix bar was first introduced in the United Kingdom in 1967 and then later introduced in the United States in 1979. The name "Twix" comes from the words, "twin biscuits" or "twin bix", which when combined came out to be "twix". The original bar weighed 58 grams but was later reduced to 50 grams in 2012, possibly for the same reasons mentioned above with the Snickers bar.  

Most Recent Slogan:  

"Try Both, and Pick a Side"  

The slogan is based on a fictional origin story of Twix that claims 2 Victorian inventors created the candy, but fought constantly until each made his own factory for the twix bars.  

So, which is it, Snickers or Twix? 

 

Summary:

There isn't really a great reason why people tend to prefer one over the other. It all comes down to personal preference. Snickers seems to have a much better marketing slogan in my opinion and it has been around quite a bit longer but I have always been partial to Twix. My stepson has always been partial to Snickers... So, there you have it. Which candy bar do you like best?

*A consumption tip: If you put them in the refrigerator or the freezer, they taste even better cold :)

Live well my friends!  

Sources: 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Snickers 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Twix  

Images are courtesy of Pixabay.com  

Follow: @jrcornel

Sort:  

I dunno about you but....

:P

Haha that is funny! Perhaps I should have added butterfingers to the debate... :)

excellent post congrats

There was a time Twix was Raider :)

Really? Did not know that... where was that?

At least during my childhood. I was living in Belgium at that time. I checked the wikipedia and this was only in Europe actually, until 1991.

Yep, only in Europe. Thanks for sharing though! Always nice to learn new things :)

Finally, someone on Steemit has the guts to ask the importantant questions.

Haha, it's what I do :)

SNICKERS!!!i am addicted!!!

Ever try em cold?

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

no question whatsoever, snickers

Just evil! As a rule I don't have a sweet tooth, I do however have a overwealming craving for candy tonight, but have nothing in the house and live on a farm far from town.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62816.09
ETH 2466.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64