Sort:  

I understand your frustration. I drink six cups some days. The general consensus is that coffee is good for you except in certain select circumstances in which case your doctor will normally advise you to avoid coffee.

That said a lot of the earlier advice was based on educated assumptions and observations that have since proven to be untrue. I would say the truth is it is good for you BUT like anything else it should be taken in moderation - the most that there is evidence for is about 6 cups per day in some of the studies. Downing 20 cups per day may not be good for you!

Also if you are not a regular coffee drinker and suffer from any chronic illnesses you should discuss it with your doctor first especially if you have been told not to take coffee.

I see... so the health benefits you posted is the latest concensus then among medical experts? I remember a couple years ago hearing coffee was great for your heart, then a couple years later they said it may cause cancer, then just recently I read that coffee decreases cancer risk and has numerous health benefits even drinking large quantities... I wish they would make up their mind :)

I am not a coffee drinker at all, in fact, I avoid the stuff. However, if I knew there were health benefits I would probably start drinking it because I am all about being the healthiest I can be :)

Certain types of roasting may create carcinogens which is what I think you may have heard but this was looking at the actual compounds in the coffee and not the actual overall effect of consumption in people.

Also if you drink your coffee or tea super hot (which some people do) on a regular basis that may actually increase your risk of developing oral and oesophageal cancers - I read a paper on it some time back. This effect relates to actually causing repeated low level burns to to the upper part of your alimentary tract and results in something called squamous metaplasia which is a precursor to cancer. I suspect you may also have read about this too.

So don't have your coffee when it is burning hot and you may be better off avoiding certain very extreme roasts where it is burnt beyond recognition. Generally anything that is cooked to the point of burning is probably not good for you.

Yeah - this is pretty accurate. Much of the dark-roasted grocer brands (like Folgers and Maxwell House) are actually just burnt coffee. I explained why this occurs in my last coffee post. Basically - it masks the fact that the coffee beans are a poor quality and blended with different beans or beans from different regions. So, if you want to avoid terrible coffee, just avoid most grocery stores and don't buy dark roasts.

If you're looking for good coffee, find a nice medium roast, premium or specialty-grade arabica beans. You can occassionally find a decent "blend," but I would recommend a single-origin. Get them in whole bean and grind as you go for the best results - it will keep from staling as quickly. If you don't like hot coffee or want to avoid any of the heat-related health issues, then just cold-brew the coffee. It's delightful!

@jrcornel - If you want to learn more about any of that, take a look at my series, Make Your Coffee Great Again! All original content, including the images. You really won't find a series like it anywhere else.

Certain types of roasting may create carcinogens
hmmm
Years ago (no source, just memory) it seem I heard that the way coffee is prepared matters.
Drip (filtered) vs Percolated.
Filtered = good
Percolated = bad.

Two cups a day? piffle. I drink twenty or thirty cups a day. Have been since the seventies.
I wear out cheap coffee makers (Mr. Coffee for example) in about three months. The only brand that I've discovered that will stand the gaff is BUNN

http://www.bunn.com/home-products

In my 'not so humble' opinion the only good thing about Starbux is that it is coffee...or at least they claim it is. If nothing else is available I will drink Starbux...and only then. Even vending machine instant is better.

I love percolated coffee even though boisl it (which you aren't meant to do). I used to drink 20 a day at one point but it was weak hospital coffee.

When I say 2 cups per day I do not mean 2 normal size coffee mugs. I am talking a thermos that she takes to work and then a massive cup when she gets home... It would probably equate to at least 12 cups total...

OK well that is a decent amount then!

you mean like this?

Bunn & Wearing = pro !

ps. been in starbucks 3 times ... 2 to use restroom, 1 to use wifi .. buy coffee ...0 $4+ for a cup ? LMAo Really !!!!

?Bun and Wearing ? ... come to chat

@jtstreetman Yes Bun and Wearing. Need to go to bed now as it is after 4.25 am here! Will check it out tomorrow. Which channel?

as you get older you just roll with the flow, this yr, 2 cups day, last year 4, next prob 4 again, like eggs ... 2 a day this yr ? so I'm good ... so w/e, lol

I vary quite a lot too. I go through cycles where I cut back on coffee and drink more tea and the balance keeps shifting. I never completely stop though except for one or two times in my life.

I quit drinking coffee once.
Worst hour of my life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65988.06
ETH 3414.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67