Steemit Is Losing It's Power?

in #life8 years ago (edited)

I hate to say it, but steemit is starting to turn into nothing but politics. The people on here with the power are abusing their privileges. Things are getting flagged for no apparent reason. I have been dedicated to posting on here in hopes of steemit being something great, but it is getting less and less interesting. Why would you want a site that the only thing happening on the site..is people talking about the damn site? That is exactly what is happening here. Steemit is turning into a competition of who can post the best post about steemit. The content on here is starting to sound more and more like robots. The posts are losing the heart behind them..

Steemit is supposed to be a social media platform that encourages us to share our thoughts, feelings, adventures and moments in life. It is turning into nothing but steemit this, steemit that. I get it, steemit is growing and I am sure it will continue growing. Posting blogs on here about steemit doesn't help new people join steemit. We are all already here so we all already obviously know what steemit is and how it works. Now people are getting pissed off because of hash tags? So what? Technically every single thing posted on steemit can be tagged with steemit. It has something to do with steemit because it is on the fucking website! The entire reasoning of the post is for the steemit community to see it so why in the hell would it be an issue to take it with steemit?

This all started out as fun and everyone was working TOGETHER. Now everyone is breaking into groups and working against each other. Mark my words, if stemeit continues in the direction it is going, it will end up being myspace. A new, better, site will come along and be the facebook. I am not giving up on steemit, but I am certainly not going to be as dedicated as I have been. You can check my blogs. I post about real shit. Real stories, real art, real thoughts and real views. Isn't that what we want on here? Or do you want to sign on every single day and see who posted the best post about steemit that day? Shit's crazy.

I am going to continue posting art, posting thoughts and feelings and whatever else comes into mind. I encourage everyone to actually write things from the heart and not form their pockets. The site isn't about making money, it's about forming a new, better and stronger social networking community. A family, not a bunch of different families. One family. Go ahead with the hate comments and all of the other bs. I am sure the people who will have negative feedback or comments are the ones with their wallets full on here.

#steemit
#news
#crypto

Sort:  

Never fear, we have a solution in the works that will hopefully resolve this kind of power dynamic and allow us to remove downvotes all together.

awesome. yeah let's hang in there. we a building a culture here. and us immigrants from the outside world have to learn how to live in a free culture.

Awesome. Maybe you can remove the flag from my post that was flagged because someone didn't like what I had to say on an entirely unrelated post by another user. Lost my rewards for that one, plus 4 reputation points. That kind of crap needs to be corrected.

Hm, interesting!

Remove downvotes?

Actually I agree with you - i am fed up seeing post of how to make it on steemit regurgitated in different formats, then people squabbling about it and how much they made and they haven't..etc etc -I don't think your bitching, think you are observing something that everyone else is, but just hasn't said it... well done

Thank you very much. I am no way bitching, I am doing exactly as you said, just trying to make it aware and hopefully us all work together to change it.

Here's how I see it. You can choose your mindset and provide productive, uplifting content and commentary. You can also choose to ignore negative and bickering content. I don't necessarily agree with your view it is all turning to politics but I think those things are simply being highlighted more by the whale curators.

I do feel on the developer side that there isn't too much of politics and people are working together. I guess it really has to do with how you frame the picture.

In the end, it's things only having to do with steemit that are being praised.

I think I see your point a lot better now that I've read the whole fiasco with @berniesanders being a butthead to @dollarvigilante https://steemit.com/steemit/@dollarvigilante/want-to-be-a-steemillionaire-here-are-the-crucial-things-to-do-for-newbies-on-steemit

I switched my DV to an UP

Yup, that is actually what sparked my post.

Agree 100%, @jpiper20.

I had someone flag a post of mine based on a comment in a completely unrelated post from another person. He went to my blog page and flagged it out of spite. How is this beneficial to the platform, in addition to all of the things you've mentioned?

Yeah I was getting fed up with all of this stuff from tax cheats and scammers and all the lemmings that came in behind them. Then I finally figured it out:

I'm not going to read their stuff.

Now off to find a nice gardening post to upvote.

I'd like to believe that content will win in the end. There is a lot of good content that just simply doesn't get upvoted and ends up not being as visible. It is currently hard to keep up with all the new content though, so I find myself mostly looking at the trending feed. Maybe mixing the trending feed up so that the highest valued posts are not always at the top or providing an option for that would help get some exposure for some of the other content.

lol .. we're only a few months in.

If this bothers you, its only going to get worse.

Just curate who you read more closely.

Free-market solution to a free-market problem.

I'm pretty new, yet I can see your point. This is an incredible concept if one considers the inability for censorship, and the community's potential for sculpting content. I just hope the community grows to be a collective of wisdom, and not just a shit show. Time will tell.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60073.81
ETH 2420.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45