You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Being Happy Is A Choice... So Why Choose To Be Unhappy?

in #life7 years ago

I like what you are saying but I disagree. As a kid who was bullied I wasn't able to be happy until I got to college. Now, I'm very happy other than the stress of adulthood and being broke I'm very happy. Sometimes, it's not a choice.

Sort:  

Shoulda quit the government indoctrination camps or headed down to the MMA gym. Either would have fixed it.

I don't want to sound desperate because I'm not and I know you have a kind heart since we always see you upvote the sob stories but.....the Tezos ICO is hours away at this point. Is this an opportunity of a lifetime or a cryptocurrency retreat back to centralized authority since the Swiss government has officially approved the coin's foundation?

I think it takes effort to be happy, you need to do something - today I am very lazy, not doing much and I am not so happy.

Yes, to be happy, one must have something to look forward to. Caring for someone or some thing (like plants for example) giving of yourself brings real solid happiness. If you can remember to get up and move...just move...energy begets more energy...then your laziness will fade away. you will not be so depressed and will find happiness just from feeling the sunshine on your face.

Jeff give us your take on Sia Coin and XRP please

This is probably the best piece of anti-bullying advice I've ever come across.

Hello, try to reach you before last year but I was not successful . can you give me a contact Info. I have a REAL ESTATE opportunity I want to talk to you about . Merida Yucatan Mexico . Thanks

I agree with you about everyone not having the choice to be happy. Not everyone is as fortunate as others. Some people go through things in theor life, which would make it difficult dor them to just be happy!

I'd say the choice lies within how you view your situation. Money isn't happiness. Would you say the bullying made you stronger perhaps? Temporal happiness and long-term happiness are different things I'd say.

I like the definition of happiness Aristotle proposed..'eudamonia'...which is essentially fulfilling our purpose; one of fulfillment. To him, if we practice virtuos activities each day rather than let the doldrums of socialization weigh down on us...we were in a good place.

I stuttered throughout Middle School and High School and took on a whole bunch of 'bullying' and was looked down upon by some who didn't know my true capabilities. When I realized I was in-control of it, for the most part, and became mostly fluent...I reached a level where I'm glad I went through that hardship.

[More on Aristotle here if you're interested: http://www.philosophybasics.com/branch_eudaimonism.html]

I know being broke can be a stressor, but the best I can say is try to take things relatively; as hard as it might seem sometimes....at least you have your life. Many who wanted theirs have lost it without wanting too...at young ages...in tragic accidents, etc.. I know it's easier said that done....but giving it a shot is worth it isnt it?

Bulling made me a sarcastic asshole haha but I am very happy with life now. Money is not everything but it is needed.

Shoulda' punched that bully right in the fuckin' mouth. You'd have been a lot happier a lot sooner. Worked for me.

I agree with you @jpinka
I think there's a limit to really being happy with whatever you have
When I was in high school, I literally hated my life (because I hated high school and felt I didn't belong). So I remember they were one of the worst years of my life

Damn Skippy. You should add more tags to this post like blog and writing. I only see life

I agree, it isn't a choice. Being happy or not happy is the effect of a cause. The method is what makes you happy or unhappy. You can chose to do actions that will make you feel happy or sad, but you cannot chose to be sad or happy.

For example, saying someone should just be happy when their Mom dies is extremely naive. Keeping yourself locked in your room won't help with you being happy overtime, but talking to family members and going out will good company will make you happier than sitting in your room.

That's one way to look at it. 🙃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29