Hello Steemers! Introduction Post

in #life8 years ago

Hey Steemit,

Steemit intro picture

Josh Fischbach here, This is my introduction post.

Golden Gate Bridge

I would like to give you all my perspective of the world by way of short stories, Original Sci-Fi fan writings, personal rants and tips on better living.

Dreaming of Steemit

Steemit seemed like such a simple but brilliant system. I never heard of it until I attended a conference in San Diego hosted by @neilstrauss where @ned gave a talk.

At the conference @anwenbaumeister also gave a great talk on her experience with Steemit.


Life as Josh

Profile Picture

Most people don’t know that I was born in Japan. My parents were in the military and we moved around a bit.

Eventually, we settled in the Mojave Desert of Southern California. First living on Edwards Air Force Base then moving to California City.

Fast forward some...
Around beginning of 2012 I was laid-off from my job and funny enough this wasn’t the first time I’d been laid-off. So I figure “So What” I’ll just get another. Well it turned out the job market at the time was bad, I mean REALLY BAD! There was something about a great recession going on and hardly anyone was hiring.

Then things got tougher. After about a month of unemployment the apartment I was living in was suddenly out of my budget and I was facing homelessness.

However through adversity comes adaptation…

My brother was nice enough to let me use his couch until I was able to afford a place again. I used my new found spare time to obtain new certifications and education with in my field. Making me even more of a valuable hire. I also talked to all my connection constantly for any chance of getting a job.

Finally, after six months of unemployment, a lucky break! I landed a temporary position with a subcontractor. It involved working for Union Pacific Railroad in Eureka California. I was living 270 miles south of there in the San Francisco Bay Area at the time. I took the job.

Since then I have had the privilege of working for the US Navy and Marine Corp, NASA and FERMA.

Jack London Square Oakland

Self-Improvement: A New Beginning

Awhile back I felt that my life wasn’t turning out the way I wanted it to be. I was 29 years old and still didn’t have a girlfriend or a steady job and I was living at home with my Dad. At the time I was working for a retail company and my self-esteem was the lowest I could have ever remembered it.

Enter The Game.
Given to me as a gift, Neil’s book The Game was so profoundly different to anything else I ever read. I was thoroughly intrigued by it.

Today, I’m apart of an elite self-improvement group that occasionally gets together to do totally outrageous things to push me past my comfort-zone and help me grow as an individual. I can honestly say that my life has never been the same since.

Making the choice to invest in myself is one of the best decisions of my life.

HAZ clean-up 7-04-16
One of the more interesting days on the job.

I work in the Environmental Industry. This includes Toxic and Hazardous remediation, Clean-ups and Emergency Response (Yeah, Firemen call me for Help!)

More Good Stuff

Canadian food for me
I enjoy eating food! How about YOU?

Albatross
Who doesn’t like to drink and play darts?

San Francisco From Treasure Island
Night View of San Francisco

Something For You!

My experience in the environmental industry gives me in a unique insight area that few people know about. It is my wish to pass that knowledge on to you.

I would like to give my personal industrial tips of the best, money saving, organic, environmentally friendly and interesting ways to clean your home from everything from pest control to general maintenance. All the while having a AWESOME time doing it!

Thanks for Your Attention!

I’m so stoked that there’s a community like Steemit around and I'm looking forward to sharing some of my orginal content with you all.
Please let me know what you think and it would be totally AH-MAZING to get to know you as well!

enter image description here
CHEERS!

Sort:  

yours.... first moustache I felt I could trust!

Welcome

Welcome bud!

Thank You Brother!

welcome to steemit

Thanks, Its great to be apart of the community!

Welcome to Steemit:)

Welcome brother!

Awesome... Thanks!

Nice meeting u. I am new here 1 week. up voted. Appreciate you look at my blog and up vote.

No Problem, Cheers!

Welcome @joshfischbach I am also new to steemit. Upvoted :)

Hey that's Albatross in Berkeley, isn't it? Let's grab a pint there when I get back form India!

Heck Yeah! Hit me up when your back in town!

Fellow military kid, Society bro and former SF dweller. Great intro! -Chris J

Thanks! Us military brats gotta stick together.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44