Happiness Is The Rare Wealth We Seek

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Happiness is the rare wealth we seek. Most of us think money is happiness or being rich would make us happy but just take a step back and actually analyse this and you would realise that happiness is the only true datum in life.

I remember my Uncle was called to the bar some years ago and i joined in the celebration. I went back to where i could get some meat to compliment my chilled beer, as i took it i felt sad that these guys serving me were not part of the occasion and wondered if they are happy in life. I thought this because i felt they were "poor" and couldn't afford much in life but my cousin gave me hope by telling me that these guys also had happiness in their own way. I also then put myself in context and realised that some other people may look at me and think i am not happy because i may be relatively less wealthier and some other people would also think the same about those who thought about me so and it goes on and on and on and on..... Where does it stop. It is all perception.

Happiness is the only true datum between the "rich" and "poor" because while i may be in the city with electricity, a car and a lot of money in my bank account i may not be happy as compared to my cousin in the village with none but is so happy being told a story around fire in the night.

Ask yourself this question; how many times do i get happy in a day? month? or year?

Ask yourself; Am i happy now?

Ask yourself; What can i do to make myself happy? Maybe drawing makes you happy, maybe helping others make you happy, walking along the beach makes you happy, maybe finding love makes you happy, maybe a fat bank account makes you happy etc. etc.

I agree that we live in a world where money runs everything but ....In whatever you do make sure it results in happiness because happiness is the rare wealth we seek.

Sort:  

Nice text! :)
I wanted to comment first, but then noticed the comment became too long and decided to write a small article as 'reply' to yours:
https://steemit.com/happiness/@jaki01/prefer-to-be-rich-or-happy-lieber-reich-als-gluecklich

Thank you very much for the acknowledgement. I just read your story and i agree with you 100%. Very inspiring!

Nice post, Welldone

Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56560.74
ETH 2390.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34