When does friendship cross the line into using

in #life7 years ago (edited)


I have a friend who I have had for years. Her kids were the same age of my kids so we naturally drew ourselves together. She is a very demanding kind of person and the way she controls the friendship is always in the ever sweetest ways. I would like to pretend that she really does not know what she does but I have a feeling she thinks all her schemes out very deeply so the person on the other end does not see how devious she really is.

This is the type of person who never wants for anything nor does she really lack anything. She has a certain way about herself that makes people do things or give her things. For example she will put out a hint like oh I really wish I had a pair of skis for my daughter but since we have moved here things are tight so maybe next year. Then what happens the person who may have been planning to do something different with the skis gives her the skis. She has a way of making people bend to her every whim.

She also has a way of making people think there life sucks. You'll just be talking in a conversation and all of a sudden she will have you thinking your life is inadequate. If you happen to bring up something she does not like or the kids have a disagreement then oh my the earth shakes from her tyrancy. Even if the situation is completely her fault by the time she is done with you its definitely not her fault. For example I was moving into my new place and up till the move we had been sharing meals Monday and Tuesday night because she moved 30 min aways from town and her kids were in dance with my daughter. I felt bad that she had to do so much driving so I suggested sharing dinners to make her life easier. Well this all worked out till the moving day. Because it happened to be a Monday she called me up and said whats for dinner? I asked her how I was going to do dinner when everything was still being unpacked. Well this didn't go over too nicely. She actually yelled at me and said well you need to do something its your turn and we need to eat. I broke down and made a pot of pea soup and had dinner at my place. I was so angry and hurt that she didn't take my needs into consideration. That was only one example many many more situations have happened. |Instead of breaking the friendship off I stayed friends for the kids sake.

Last summer her son wanted to come down for a visit with his old friends since he wasn't making any at his new home so we took him and his sister for a month. There was no thank you from her, no offer to help supplement any food for them, or any gas to get them to the places they needed to get. I did it because of the kids not her. I think the entire time of being her friend the only thing I ever asked from her was to borrow a dress for my daughter. It could be my fault because I am a very independent person and don't like to ask things from my friends. I feel that my friends have enough busyness they don't need my busyness too.

So the last straw happened this morning. I agreed to take her son for the first week in January since again he is missing his friends and she wants to do this for his Christmas. She pretty much assumed and started to make plans before I even had the chance to say yes. This morning she calls me up and says okay its planned she tells me I need to take him to the airport on such and such date and he needs to be there at 7:40 which means I need to be on the road at 330 in the morning to get him there. Vancouver is 3 hours away from where I live. Again she just expected me to be at her service. I am so frustrated that I had to write this to vent so I wouldn't take my anger out on anyone else.

Anyways thanks for reading this if anyone has any advice please help I hate being so negative because this is just not me.

Sort:  

Tell, me...just why are you friends with this woman? You know she uses and abuses you. And you use the excuse that its for the kids. Kids will make new friends, easier than we do. During a life time, we have many people cross our paths. Some are friends and some are not. Chalk this one up to experience and move on. It's not worth it. This person is toxic.

Thank you after reading your comment I sent a message and told her she needs to find another way to get him to the airport. My goodness she has a daughter who lives in town that can do it. He can come for a visit but that is where my charity ends. Thanks for the courage to stand up for myself.

Good for you! You have to draw some lines.
As you know, when I drew the lines with her and stood up for myself and my own needs, the friendship was over, as she acted like I was being cruel to her.

Congratulations @jolly-homestead! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59694.50
ETH 2603.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54