Hello, my steemit friends, I am back in Florida and now dealing with the damages done by the hurricane to my property there.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

There are so many people with major problems in Florida that my damages are nothing like theirs, but still it is something that has to be handled. The good news is that my house is in great shape, but the property around it needs a lot of work. As many know I have a lot of fruit trees, bushes and vines. It appears that my large mango tree is lost. There is a small possibility it might be saved, but very slim, as I can not find anyone with a crane, etc to reset it. All tree people are very busy as you can understand. This tree produced around 500 large mangos per year.

I lost most of my bananas, I had perhaps 400-500 stalks, and only have about 50 to 60 small ones left. They will regrow so now problem for later. It is amazing how they were ripped from the ground and now totally gone.

My wooden fence around the back of the house is destroyed, but can be replaced

My netting over my pool is shredded.

And my sprinkler system has had many of the sprinklers ripped from the ground.

In total about twenty something thousand in damages I am guessing right now.

I can recover, but others need your prayers and help in this time of recovery.

Here are some of the photos of the damage to my property.

GOPR1045[1].JPG

GOPR1046[1].JPG

GOPR1034[1].JPG

GOPR1039[1].JPG

GOPR1041[1].JPG

GOPR1043[1].JPG

Sort:  

I can't imagine losing a tree that produced hundreds of mangoes every year... and now I miss living far enough south to grow bananas. We had some near us in New Orleans.

I am still hopeful to save it, but getting slimmer everyday. I can not find anyone to help me. I need a bobcat or lift to set it up straight, and with all of the damages here, I can not find one available. It is making a slow death.

Wow Johnnyray, that's intense. I happy to hear you home weathered well.

It sucks to lose something like that mango tree. There's a lot of real value in an old tree that produces well. I hope it somehow survives.

Good luck my friend.

thank you, my friend, I hope I can find someone who can help me with it, but it looks very doubtful right now, already called over 50 tree services.

The Florida Keys and Puerto Rico are in very bad shape, as I guess you have heard. I really hope the people of the USA will help those in Puerto Rico as much as possible. I live in Texas and there are still many in Houston and Rockport, TX that still needs so much help! Glad your house wasn't damaged!

Yes, they had a lot of damage and need our help as well. My house is very solid, concrete walls, stone roofing, and we had installed metal shutters on all windows, so thankful for all preparation work before we left on the cruise.

I'm glad your house is in tact. The amount of damage these storms cause is overwhelming. My heart goes out to you and the others impacted by this. Good luck!!

I have decided to resteem this post.

thank you so much for this. i see a lot more damage to others here and hope to help them as quick as I can as well.

Yeah, very fortunate your house made it. I'm glad you have a roof to sleep under at least.

Yes, I can rebuild the outside, about $20,000 in damages, but still much less than rebuilding my home.

Sad about your mango tree. I still hope you can find someone to help get it planted. We were lucky here in Florida to have such minimal damage. It could have been so much worse for us. Regards. 🐓🐓

yes, we were lucky this time, but others were not and now following you

Thank you for your reply. It appears you are further south than we are. Don't think we could grow mango's here. Wishing you much luck on your new book release. 🐓🐓

They grow great here, and thank you as i hope it does well also.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61255.54
ETH 2640.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46