You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are You Nesting In A Good Place?

in #life6 years ago

a parable drawn from daily life - something Jesus would teach using metaphors such as building a house on a rock foundation rather than sand - a further illustration - I always felt, even as a child, that technology was dangerous because it was heartless- I don't expect others to share that view but I came across a story by Ray Bradbury that came close - you probably know it - http://floydmiddle.typepad.com/files/the-flying-machine-text.pdf

Sort:  

Thanks for the link...

I read Bradbury's collection of short stories, "Golden Apples of the Sun," many years ago and I recall that story about the flying machine. Re-reading it today, I find it as horrifying now as I did then. All too realistic, believable... and all too utterly wrong.

Don't know if you noticed, but this incident definitely reminded me of the rock and sand parable, and I linked to it at the end of my story.

I love Bradbury's writing, especially The Martian Chronicles. I had the privilege of meeting the man once, and witnessed a very strange situation involving him. I must write the story about that some day...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67865.46
ETH 3258.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64