Never Look Back!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

IMG_8361.jpg

I've said and done plenty of stupid things in my life (haven't we all?).

I've made less than perfect decisions and gone charging down paths in life where I had no business being.

I've made promises to myself and broken them. Time and time again.

But...

None of this matters.

Not now.

Not today.

I'm not going to spin the usual BS of not having regrets. Because I don't believe we should deny ourselves any emotions. Emotions are messages from our inner selves. Sign posts that show us whether we're heading in the right direction or not. Telling yourself not to feel something is like telling the wind not to blow.

If you regret something, good!
Learn from it. Change because of it. Don't make the same mistake twice.

If you've had a crappy day, good!
Learn from it. Change because of it. Don't make the same mistake twice.

If you've failed at something, good!
Learn from it. Change because of it. Don't make the same mistake twice.

Never look back unless you are planning to go that way. ~ Henry David Thoreau

So, I'd love to hear from you...

Tell me what you've failed at and, most importantly, why this is was a GOOD thing!

[photo by @johleen]

Sort:  

So true, and so good! Something I personally believe in too... Everything happens for a reason, it is up to us to learn from it or to just cry about it. Btw, that picture works so well with this theme too! :)

Thanks so much!! I'm pretty proud of that photo. :)) Yep, and there's no point in just crying about it!!

Good question & that's a very cool photo ! the movement is excellent.

We all make mistakes, if you don't make mistakes you don't learn the secrets. I've failed at almost everything I've done and I only usually make the same mistake 3 or 4 times but sometimes more.

(I have also made lots of non-mistakes, had many happy accidents and experiments which have led me to places I couldn't have anticipated, both in life and work.) mistakes are like negative space, without them there's nowhere to exist. how do you know when you've got it right if you've never made a mistake ? and some of the best discoveries ever made were total outright plonkers !

10 points for anyone who can name one !

Thanks!

Love what you said about mistakes being like negative space. Yes, without them there really isn't any 'getting it right'. Also, there would be no progress or learning. Mistakes should be our best friends. :)

Hmmm... would penicillin be one of these mistakes you're talking about? Hmmmm, I can't think of any others off the top of my head, but yes I'm sure there are many more. I'd love to hear what they are....?

And also, great work on setting up the street photography section on Discord!

penicillin scores ten cool points ! accidents can change the world. There are a few others. I always try to think of the 'whole' wherever possible so, for example bacteria and viruses become the scissors and surgical scalpels of nature, trimming and refining the beautiful forms we see around us. without them the world would probably just be a big wobbly mess ! so it reaches as far as the stars.. moons are not dead, they are the counterbalance to our planet. without them we would have no tides and the seas would be just a big stinky lake (probably) ! I'm sure we'll discover lots more

oooh yep, I love what you're saying and agree 100%. I just imagined a world fully of Mr. Jelly from the Mr. Men when you talked about the world without bacteria and viruses becoming a big wobbly mess!

yeah but not as pretty as roger hargreaves world. more like baron harkonnen

Hahahaha!!! Oh my god, truly terrifying!!!

you gonna share some street photos on the discord channel ? it would be good to hear about how you deal with stalking strangers and what motivates you ...

https://discordapp.com/channels/344518715460681728/344518715892563978

Definitely! I shall dive in tomorrow. Looking forward to it. :)

Good news and interesting it is needed by the public like the news that you have posted, thank you for posting him hopefully things you have done is useful for many people especially for the creator of posting, I and other friends, hopefully we. Can be glorious here thank you may be happy with my comments

Thanks. :)

This post has received a 0.28 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Well I failed to understand cryptos and Bitcoin even Steemit for 2 months BUT

I understand it fully now :)

Took me some time. Thats Alright :)

Followed You !

Awesome! Oh I see you are a minimalist photographer... I love this style. Definitely followed you back. :)

Yes, Yes !!!

Minimalist Photography :)

Thank you !!!

This post has received a 1.36 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @johleen.

will definitely try to learn from the mistakes

Good to hear!

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johleen.

Woahh that great. I upvoted and followed you.

I request you take some time and read this inspirational post and if you like it please upvote the post for me. Thanks!

Here it is: How celebrities achieved success in their life

Thanks! And nice post. I've upvoted it. ;-)

Thanks @johleen. You are amazing, I appreciate it.

@johleen got you a $0.97 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@johleen got you a $0.97 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!