Hello from Joe!

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Hello, world!

This is my first Steemit post, first blog post, and first anything-post outside of Facebook and Instagram, but it certainly will not be the last!

I will be brief today as I simply wanted to exchange pleasantries with you all while giving a little context of my intentions. It has been a long, strange journey for me to arrive at the place I am in my life, and my ambition here is to unpackage it all bit by bit. My name is Joe, and below is a photo of me from a shoot I did with a dear friend of mine.

@ IMG_1645.jpg

As 2019 began, I inadvertently fell into a routine of spending the first few hours of my day reflecting and challenging current realities with past biases just trying to make sense of this crazy world and all things related. Within those first few waking hours, I usually had enough content jotted down in my notes to satisfy a week’s worth of blog entries. I had the epiphany that if such topics stimulate my mind and stir my soul that much then I know there are others around the world struggling with the same topics.

I suddenly felt the mission/obligation/authority to be more intentional about my ponderings. Rather than keeping pages and pages of notes scrambled inside my phone, and making random, emotionally-charged, and rather vague Facebook rants, I would organize my ponderings in a more appropriate platform, and allow some validation and dialogue to flow back and forth between myself and anyone who is stirred by what they read.

I wholeheartedly intend this to simply be an open diary. I often dwell on very specific ideas and want to open up dialogue on them. In all, I’m excited about the new outlet to express myself and the experiences I have.

P.S. I fully intend to refrain from using any stock images. I want to display either genuine photos of myself or photos I have personally taken. I feel this allows my posts to not only be more involved but also more personal and transparent!

Enjoy your day!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit joeysmith. The official FAQ can be found here and has A LOT of information https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also remember, Steemit is just ONE of the sites built that uses Steem the blockchain. You should also check out DTube and DSound for starters and if you're a gamer, Splinterlands! There are many other cool apps but I can't list them all here, there's just too many! But I'd also like to mention Steempeak, it's a better blogging platform that has a lot of cool features. The latest project you should also check as a new member is a palnet! Welcome to the blockchain! :) Oh, and if you're interested in creating your own tokens or smart contracts, check Steem engine!

Thank you! I will have to check out Steempeak.

Steemit can be a great tool to reflect upon ...I am one year on.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi and welcome here! When I started on steemit, my biggest problem was to find interesting people to interact with. So, to help newcomers getting started I created a directory with other interesting and or talented steemians to follow or interact with. Feel free to check it out at https://www.steemiandir.com I am sure it will help you find like-minded people. Enjoy your stay here and do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions!

Thank you! That directory is a really great resource!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Yeah, on Facebook, it has to vague.

Welcome joeysmith!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience on Steem. You have full control over your data and content, unlike some apps we don't use our users to promote our application or services.

We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @joeysmith! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Welcome to Steem joeysmith! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Loading...

Greetings, and Welcome to the Steem Community @joeysmith!

I would love to feature your new introduction post in my weekly curation blog if you don't mind! You can find it on my @Ma1neEvent Profile.

You can also check out the @MinnowSupport Project (MSP) / PAL community on Discord Chat where you can interact, chat, network, and learn with other members of the Steem / PAL Community! There is even a Steem based radio station there with shows and music created by Steemians, @MSP-Waves! Hop in the @MinnowSupport Pond on Discord and say hello sometime if you'd like!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53699.14
ETH 2213.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28