SHARING STEEMIT TO THE LEADERS OF DIFFERENT COURSES OF STI COLLEGE

in #life6 years ago (edited)

29028141_2108463212514007_2783920835453255680_n.jpg

Hi Steemians, this is @joeysison a minnow but a whale inside.

Today I want to share you something!

Last March 9, 2018 I was invited to be a guest speaker of STI College Novaliches branch and I got the opportunity to share the principles of leadership to the student leaders of different organization in different courses like Arts and Business Communication, IT, Business, others, with the theme

"Leadership development: Passion to Serve, Passion to Lead".

This is what happened!

The department head contacted my wife and asked my availability to be their speaker in leadership seminar and my wife informed me about the plan, after our conversation I immediately confirmed my availability to my wife and my wife informed the department head of the school. Before I enter the school building there is a butterfly in my stomach and I really feel nervous because I believe without God's help I cannot do it, that's why I feel ok when I am not ok. I don't want to depend on my own ability, my stage freight is a good sign that apart from God I am nothing that's why I prayed and asked God to give me wisdom and use my life to make an impact to the lives of each leader in the room.

29028240_2108462769180718_3742156222766252032_n.jpg

STI College, formerly known as Systems Technology Institute, is the largest network of for-profit information technology based colleges in the Philippines. This private college system offers a curriculum including business studies, computer science, education, engineering and health care.

29063186_2108462482514080_147705016231133184_n.jpg

It is my second time to be their guest speaker and the feeling is so overwhelming, I am so happy to see students become inspired and their feedback is so encouraging to the point that when you read their thank you notes you'll feel the energy coming out from inside. I really feel motivated!

Before I started the talk, I threw them joke to get their attention, because in the principle of public speaking the first five minutes is quite crucial it will determine the tone of the whole seminar. If I get boring they will become bored but if I succeed in getting their attention within five minutes the whole seminar will turn out good. Thank God because when I threw a joke, yehey "I won" they laugh so much. So I got the confidence and I proceed in my seminar. As seminar goes by the conversation is enjoying, I ask them some questions about their experiences as student leaders, some of them are quitting, some of them are excited. It is good to know that I have different kind of listeners, I can expand my examples based on their current experience and struggles as a leader.

This is what I shared to them during the seminar, if you need the whole animated power point just let me know I am willing to share it to you.
29066712_2108462269180768_641002896602693632_n.jpg

29133959_2108463132514015_6627408560936452096_n.jpg

29101179_2108462852514043_7036723033054117888_n.jpg

29103976_2108462779180717_7818772342124838912_n.jpg

29062537_2108462505847411_3077340524235980800_n.jpg

29177182_2108463309180664_202404452697636864_n.jpg

The main objective of the seminar is to inspire the young leaders to serve their co-student with passion and love. These leaders don't have salary in doing extra curricular activity like being a leader of an organization. There is a tendency to quit if they don't understand the benefits of serving other people. That's why I gave them the benefits of serving and leading people. See below points,

“The only really happy people are those who have learned how to serve” – Albert Schwitezer

1 . TO GAIN MORE HAPPINESS
• When we volunteer we often give ourselves deeper purpose and meaning and that nearly always leads to greater happiness. Reduce stress. When we help others our bodies release a hormone called oxytocin, which buffers stress and helps us maintain social trust and tranquility

• A part of our brain lights up when we serve others.

• That part of our brain then doles out feel-good chemicals like dopamine, and possibly serotonin. According to Post, “These chemicals help us feel joy and delight — helper’s high.” A common reaction is that “some people feel more tranquil, peaceful, serene; others, warmer and more trusting.” When we volunteer we often give ourselves deeper purpose and meaning and that nearly always leads to greater happiness.

2 . TO REDUCE STRESSES
• When we serve others our bodies release a hormone called oxytocin, which buffers stress and helps us maintain social trust and tranquility. Along with oxytocin are the other chemicals like dopamine, which is a mood-elevating neurotransmitter. These drugs tend to push aside negative emotions and reduce the stress level.

3 . TO RELIEF THE PAIN
• A study done by Pain Management Nursing reports that on a scale from 0 - 10 that people’s pain ratings dropped from nearly 6 to below 4 after attending a volunteer training program and leading discussion groups for fellow sufferers. Volunteering takes our mind off our pain and also makes us feel more in control of it.

4 . TO HAVE LONGER LIFE
• Over 40 international studies confirm that serving through volunteering can add years to your life. In fact, current studies suggest up to a 22% reduction in mortality rates! How much do we have to do? Studies confirm that a regular commitment of as little as 25 hours per year is beneficial.

5 . TO HAVE LOWER BLOOD PRESSURE
• Lower blood pressure. A study done by Psychology & Aging reports those adults over 50 who serve as volunteer for 200 hours in the past year were 40% less likely to have hypertension than non-volunteers. It is believed this is accomplished because of the lower stress, and the effects of being active, social and altruistic.

6 . IT WILL BENEFIT YOU IN YOUR CAREER
• Raynolds says, “Remember, when you become involved, when you lead with your heart as well as your head, the result is always good.”

• You will feel more happy, confident and energized when you find something that makes you feel generous and purposeful — and that of course will spread to every single area of your life.

DIFFERENT KINDS OF LEADERS IN AN ORGANIZATION

1 . Consumer
2 . Coordinator
3 . Contributor

THINGS YOU SHOULD NOT FORGET AS A LEADER

1 . REST - Lack of rest will lead you to burnout
2 . RECESS - Celebrate every small victory
3 . RECREATE - We are human being first before we are human doing

Unlike my 2016 seminar with them, after the seminar everything was done. But this time there is a twist because I got the opportunity to teach them about steemit.com and I was so fascinated when I saw them interested about it. Actually I am planning to build a community in STI, because one of my friend who signed up in steemit is actually a STI professor and my wife also is a STI professor, there is an opportunity to build a community in this school and sooner to other colleges and universities.

Here are the Supreme Executive Council of STI Novaliches, they are leader of leaders. Salute because all of them are woman. (Girl's power)
29101130_2108462382514090_8378641966476296192_n.jpg

Here are the leaders of different organization, leaders who long to learn, leaders who are not perfect but leaders who want to improve their selves. Selfless leaders who has different struggles, difficulties and challenges in life but still choose to serve other students. Salute to all of you!
29028001_2108463362513992_7284968998846857216_n.jpg

29063066_2108463002514028_8433217669229969408_n.jpg

HERE ARE THE NOTES I RECEIVED FROM THEM, HEARTWARMING <3
1.jpg
2.jpg3.jpg4.jpg5.jpg6.jpg

29028141_2108463212514007_2783920835453255680_n.jpg

Follow me on Twitter
Follow me on Facebook
Follow me on Instagram

Joeysison.png

DQmf1fnrFz1H722eTrK27oWyWCcTiRq48CdGC16D4VpZ54p_1680x8400.jpg

Sort:  

What that was a great initiative @joeysison! I support your projects 100% lets get more people in steemit! Lets take it to the moon!!

Thanks @ankarlie to be supported by a woman with big heart like you is very encouraging. Yes I will, we will bring them to steemit and I hope sooner or later they will enjoy the benefits of engaging in the steemit. Thanks also for your words and action of support. Indeed your action is louder than your words. I will always be grateful coz you and @maverickinvictus and @jon24jon24 are my mentors. Please guide me and I am willing to learn from all of you.

wow. That is a great achievement and imparting to this youth your knowledge. Also good way to promote to them this wonderful platform.

I love how you are introducing steemit to leaders of different organizations. This will be good not only in helping them out in their financial needs but also will help them out on their struggles. A very good platform to share what they also have to offer.

Hi Sir @jon24jon24 thanks for your comments, Indeed sharing steemit is like sharing opportunity to others. I hope many people will join us soon so that they will experience the blessings. God bless to your exam btw. I will include it in my prayer.

You're awesome sir @joeysison. Keep it up 👍 your humor makes sense to encourage student and lead as a leader. I just followed you hope to see more speeches from you soon😊

@jancharlest thanks for your nice words. I really appreciate it!

wow!! ang galing! ❤ it's really nice to make an effort and then receive such wonderful messages afterwards. worth it. Congrats for being able to deliver the message nicely.

yes, reading those comments from the students is heartwarming. they must be touch and learned alot from you, because they have appreciated what you have done.

Thanks @juwel, yes, their comments are a stress reliever for me. It lightens my day.

Congrats sir Joey! Another job well done!!
Did you know I used to study at STI college too?
After reading first lines of your article, I told myself.. "Ohh how I wish I was there to witness your presentation" but after reading more... I found out you posted here the entire content of your seminar...and you're able to discuss further more about your experience that day. That was nice! I have learned a lot from this post. Actually, the seminar content itself teaches us lessons that we can also apply here on steemit. In addition to that, you also shared STEEMIT to the leaders of STI? Wow.... that's awesome! thanks for this great content post! two thumbs up! can I give two upvotes?? if only I can, haha..

Hi @maylyn09, greaaaaaaat to know that you are a former student of sti, from what branch are you?

Thanks for your kind comments, I really appreciate your positive attitude. Let us work together and bring more people to this platform. Hehehe I like the two upvotes, hehehe. Your comment and resteem is highly appreciated.

Nakakatuwa naman gusto ko din talaga gumawa ng way para mapalaki ang steem. Sana magkaron ako opportunity gaya mo :)

@joyceann21, Yes I know you can, I know you have something to offer as per @steemsecrets and @surpassinggoogle. All of us are gifted of something, you just need to Discover, Develop and Distribute it. Ikaw pa alam ko kaya mo.

Wow! I was bowled over by this post. Indeed you rock! I can see you are a great speaker and your audience had a wonderful time. Very insightful post, thank u for sharing.

Hi my dear @edith4angelse, great to see your comment in my post, I am so pleased to read your comment, thanks for this. It really encouraged me. Happy for your last post, keep it up buddy.

Iron sharpens the Iron, let us sharpen one another.

Exactly dear! We encourage one another, I believe we will get there one day. Got ya back too. Following you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54