Today I Received My First Postcard In Years & Why I Write Love Letters To Australia's Most Notorious Hotel Of Ill-Repute! =)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I still write handwritten love letters to the residents of Australia's most notorious hotel of ill-repute because I believe it is important to tell others how much love we have for them!

Today is a wonderful day for me! Not only am I about to cuddle and hold my beautiful twin nieces for the first time, which I described in this post, but I also received the first hand written post card in many years.

Is it my birthday today? ;-)

Screen Shot 2017-08-13 at 15.30.39.png

Letter Writing - A Waining Art?

When I was younger I wrote lots of hand written letters. They were for friends and family but mostly I wrote love letters! I also received a lot of love letters in return and still have a cherished box of them. They are very dear to me.

Ahhhh.... young love what a joy!

Perhaps we communicate more today thanks to SMS and email but it seems that handwritten letters and postcards are becoming less common - at least in my life. I think we write differently in a digital format than when we write by hand. The art form is waining and to receive something handwritten today is a blessing from the post office! =)

These days the only letters I receive in the post are wedding invitations!

IMG_0100.JPG

Today's Postcard

When I awoke this morning there was a post card waiting for me on my kitchen table. It was sent by a most beloved friend of mine in the US. Here is what she wrote with our names changed:

"Dear Jockey,

Big hugs as wide as these blue, blue skies from your neighbour! I am currently perched on a rock, halfway down in the canyon, surrounded by a team of mules, looking out miles and miles into the wilderness. I am loving it here in the States. Sure am missing you though. I'll see you when I see you and until then keep the party rocking!

Love,

- C -"

From the image on the postcard I can see my beloved friend was in Grand Canyon National Park when she wrote to me! The images above and below are photos of the front and back of the postcard. You will notice I have had to cover the names and addresses to protect the innocent! ;-)

IMG_0098.JPG

I Still Write Love Letters

There is something special about a communication which is handwritten. The paper, ink, art and presents that an envelope contains add personality to the letter. In the case of this post card I see an image of a nature's beauty that I have never seen with my own eyes. I think this is tremendously special and I want to keep these experiences alive!

I still write love letters! Although the love letters I write these days are of the most unexpected kind! Last year I spent almost four months living in one of Australia's most notorious houses of ill-repute The Gatwick Private Hotel in St Kilda, Melbourne.

The Gatwick was a fabulous place full of fascinating characters. It was home to junkies, thieves, a transgender community, prostitutes, indigenous Australians, the insane, dealers, pimps, ghosts and angels. I loved every minute of my time there, although I know many people who are familiar with The Gatwick must think I am crazy for saying it!

I do not judge people for their life choices, rather for who they are! The Gatwick was situated in a newly gentrified part of Melbourne and fit snugly between Australia's prisons and mental asylums. I will soon write a post about the lessons I learnt in The Gatwick and the fascinating characters I met in my time there.

Screen Shot 2017-08-13 at 16.04.21.png

I Write Love Letters To The Gatwick!

I am currently on Bali and the postal service can be a bit erratic. However every time I travel now I take the opportunity to post love letters to The Gatwick from airports. I fill the envelopes with little love letters for each of my favourite reprobates and include incense, crystals and small presents. I know that the inmates of The Gatwick do not use email as many of them do not have phones or laptops.

My letters get delivered by hand and it always seems amazing to me that my love messages pass through many hands before arriving safely with their intended recipients!

For those of you who wish to watch a fascinating video about the notorious Gatwick Hotel you can watch it here. It is really worth watching! ;-)

Sadly The Gatwick was closed last month after more than 70 years of sheltering some of Australia's most destitute and vulnerable individuals. I will cover the story of The Gatwick's closure in my future post.

So keep writing love letters - it is very important to tell others how much you love them! Fill your letters with art and love and the world will be a better place for All! =)

Screen Shot 2017-08-13 at 16.10.41.png


Images courtesy of 1, 2 @jockey, 3 @jockey, 4, 5.


Jockey loves writing to you All!


@jockey banner 6.jpg

Sort:  

I saw the Gatwick and thought it must be a hotel up by LDN Gatwick, hehe.

Jah man! LOL! Upvoted! =)

I used to send postcards to myself on vacation so when I returned home I got them as souvneirs and a reminder of the fun. I found a box the other day that survived our house fire.. it was filled with unwritten cards and stationery ready to use because back in the day there was no internet.

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment! Upvoted and followed! Great tag line btw! =)

good post. vote and resteem now

Thank you! Upvoted! =)

It's so beautiful to write letters, there's something so personal about it. Lovely postcard too.

I agree! Thank you for your comment! Upvoted! =)

I feel inspired, thank you.

You are most welcome! Upvoted and followed! =)

Available for sale? ;)

Maybe! Upvoted and followed! ;-) x

Jockey i love your post! ahhhh

Thank you mate! =)

Ahh those wonderful love letters, mostly hidden away in birthday cards telling me I was the best mother in the world. I still carry one or two in my bag everyday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 59198.54
ETH 3287.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43