Where should I start? -My Day part 1 "I am not a morning person"-

in #life6 years ago (edited)


I have been trying to decide where to start with my first blog post, aside from my introduction.  I came to the conclusion I should start with how I start my day.  

Background info -

I have never considered myself a morning person.  If you ask anyone I knew prior to this adventure, there would be a wealth of testimonies stating: "That Jon Nuernberger kid is not a morning person.  He's nice kid, just not a morning person."  

I look for the humor in things, it is another tool we use to communicate to each other.  I believe humor is necessary in the world we live in today. 

That is not to say that the world we live in is a grave place and is void of happiness or laughter.  Laughter and happiness is a universal language that bridges all cultures and all  peoples.  We can always use a little more :)

Readers note -

When I recant my experiences and stories I do so with the intent to share.  I am not here to stand atop a pillar and shout to the masses what they are doing wrong.  I am by no means perfect, and nor will I ever be.  I am simply sharing my journey and my thoughts on the transition to a better me.  

With that, the one thing I know to be true, is that I am continuing to learn :)

The Morning - 

To say "I am not a morning person" is to entrap yourself with a finite way of thinking.  You are placing yourself in a predisposition.  I know, because I thought this for most of my life and I am fighting this way of thinking.  

When I used to wake up; I would open my eyes, roll over a few times, orient myself with my surroundings, and think "DAMNIT!! What fresh hell is this!".  My mind would quip back and say "your life!! muhahaha".  I can tell you these thoughts are not silenced, but my positive responses to those thoughts are much louder.  I get out of bed, tell them to fuck off, and I start my day.  

As I make my way from my bed one could say I resemble a sloth.  Lack of speed is not the only shared characteristic.  I look in the mirror and a furry, scruffy, yawning thing looks back at me.  I give the creature a thumbs up and trod off to the living room.  The sloth tried to compete, but I won, and I start the morning with a victory.  

As soon as I reach the living room I start my learning.  My friend Arick Zachman and I read a book for our Money Chaingers Book Club.  Our current book is "The First 20 Hours" by Josh Kaufman.  This book offers a systematic approach to rapid skill acquisition: how to learn any new skill as quickly as possible.  So the first 20 minutes of the day is dedicated to learning a new skill.  After, we drink coffee and watch YouTube videos.  These videos are in the philosophical genre and include many individuals.  Currently we are watching Jordan Peterson and his "Biblical Series".  I can not speak enough about this man and what he discusses.  He is an incredible thinker!  

This block of time usually wraps up about 7:30.  7:30!!!  I was starting my day at 7:30 just a couple months ago.  Now I am fully engaged in the world around me, and formulating ideas for my day faster than a jack rabbit.  Telling myself "I am not a morning person", is to tell myself I don't have the capability to do something.  I am changing the way I think and therefore changing who I am.   

the story continues  with -My Day part 2 "The Morning walk"-

Conquer today by being better than yesterday.

Sort:  

Congratulations @jnuernberger! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61451.56
ETH 3442.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51