What Legacy Will You Leave?

in #life5 years ago (edited)

I attended a funeral this morning of a man who had been sick for several years. The last time that I saw him, he was in a wheelchair with a great big smile on his face. As a matter of fact, he was known for his big smile. He was the nephew of my aunt who is in a rehabilitative facility.

image

Pixabay image

He had been a helper and supporter of my aunt the entire time that she has needed additional care. Even though I had witnessed it for myself, I heard today about his helpful, friendly and supportive personality to anyone that he came in contact with since he was a child.

It was amazing to hear stories that people told about the impact that he made on their lives. One childhood friend told a story about how giving my aunt’s nephew was. One Christmas when every child on the block had received a brand new bicycle, the man said that his parents gave him his sister’s old bicycle.

He was devastated but his friend told him to bring the old bicycle to him. My aunt’s nephew took the bicycle apart, replaced the chain and the brakes, sanded and painted the bike until it looked better than the other children’s brand new bikes.

Now the man telling the story was in his 50s. He had tears in his eyes as he talked about how generous my aunt's nephew was to everyone he met. I thought about another man as he was speaking, because today would have been the birthday of my father-in-law. He was also a very generous and giving person who will always be missed.

What kind of a legacy are you leaving? Do you spend time with others unselfishly? Do you support other people and participate in their joys and sorrows? Will people miss when you are no longer around?

Some people are making a mark in this world just by being helpful and supportive of other people. I was happy to have known this guy, and I was pleased that my impressions of him were shared by many other people.

Be careful of the legacy that you leave which is based on how you live your life.

image

Sort:  

Please accept my condolences. I agree with you to live it is necessary so that people would remember only good things about you

I will say that man lives a fulfill life and he has written his name in gold in the heart of those that came in contact with him when he was alive . He should be proud anywhere he is now @jluvs2fly

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Jluvs2fly from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61285.21
ETH 2922.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66