On The Hunt For Wild Shrooms!

in #life6 years ago

Hunting For Wild Mushrooms


My favorite thing to do on a hot and humid day after a good long run on rain is to mushroom hunt. Its been a long mushroom-less summer without much rain and I have been itching to get out there and find something substantial. Well folks...today was the day.
I was finding shrooms everywhere.
I found some in a few yards, such as these!
Ganoderma lucid (Reishi/Lingzhi) and either Turkey Tail(Trametus versicolor), False Turkey Tail(Stereum hirsutatum), or both!

IMG_0842-XL.jpg

I found more while I was hiking in my local park as well!

Trametes versicolor(turkeytail) or Stereum hirsutatum(false turkeytail).jpg

Another one I found in a yard today was Boletus psuedosensibilis.

Boletus pseudosensibilis.jpg

I found these two at my local park but I am not familiar with the names.
Let me know if you know them!
I would love to learn!

IMG_0847-XL.jpgIMG_0834-XL.jpg

This one I am thinking is a Fly Garlic?

Maybe Fly Glaric?.jpg

I also came across something strange that I have never seen before and wasn't sure if it was a mushroom or not?
Have you seen this before?
If you know what this is I am very curious myself.

IMG_0440-XL.jpg

Lastly...here are the
WILD EDIBLE MUSHROOMS
I found today!!!

First we have the cantharellus cinnabarinus and cantharellus cibarius
also known as
The Chanterelles!

Which for some reason
the pic will not upload so you'll just have to trust me!

Then a friend of mine came across this beauty
_Sparassis Crispa (Cauliflower mushroom)
and she also took this picture.

Sparassis Crispa (cauliflower mushroom).jpg

The tastiest find of all..
and the last one I have to share with you today
was
Laetiporus sulphureous
also known as
Chicken of the woods!!!

Laetiporus sulphureus (chicken of the woods).jpg

Well folks, I am so glad I was able to share with you the beautiful world of fungi get to get lost in every once in a while and if I have gotten the scientific names wrong on any of these please feel free to correct me.
I am learning more and more on mushrooms each day and will continue to post pictures as I do.

Thank you so much for checking out my pics and I will post again soon!


Please UPVOTE FOLLOW and RESTEEM @JJwriter85 if you like what you see
AND keep an eye out for more!

Sort:  

I can't help you with anything as I know even less than you but oh, man, I'm a little in love with mushrooms these days (been a little Stametssed :). They're so beautiful and otherworldly. That first pic, what a find - they are all edible, yeah?

No they were not all edible. Some were medicinal and some edible. But the others were very poisonous. I love mushroom hunting but I make sure I do not eat any mushroom I am not 100 percent sure of it’s identification and edibility :) better safe than sorry
One wrong mushroom can kill you in a very painful way

So true! It would be such a waste to die painfully when we have ways of identifying different types, especially when you think of all the poor people who've died in the past to find out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67651.53
ETH 3845.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65