My Story of Almost Got Scammed

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Estimated reading time: 4 minutes, 34 seconds. Contains ~915 words. Calculated using Read-o-Meter.

Few days ago, I received a call from someone claiming himself to be the "Pegawai Tadbir Pejabat Mahkamah Majistret Kuantan, Pahang", telling me that I have a court case pending and that I need to attend the court case. He said that I was involved in a case where I sold an illegal bank account to a Chinese guy and the police raided this Chinese guy's hideout and the Chinese guy confessed that I was the one who sold him the bank account. And now I have a debt of RM2.6 million. The Pegawai even gave me the credit card details involved in the fraud such as the credit card number, date of issue, and also which branch where the credit card was issued, etc.. Everything seemed so real.

I told the Pegawai that I am not involved in any of these nonsense, so the Pegawai told me to lodge a police report and have the investigation team to investigate the CCTV of the bank during the date where the credit card was issued. There may be a chance that my personal info has been compromised. The Pegawai then transferred my call to apparently the "police department". The conversation lasted for about 2 hours, asking me questions like "have you lost your IC before", etc.. All the questions seems legit.

They transferred my calls a few times. Until the final person who answered my call, he claim himself to be one of the top people in the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission where he is the only one who can clear my name from the blacklisted suspect. He asked for my full cooperation and so I did what I was told. He asked a lot of questions, including my bank account info and password so that they can "check" with Bank Negara to see if the money I have in my bank account is legit and not from doing anything illegal. I asked him why need my password, and he said if I don't cooperate, he will issue a warrant to arrest me. He also said not to login my bank account within the next 45 minutes or else they will freeze my bank account for suspicion of crime. So I comply and gave him my password (how stupid I am).

After that, he said that my bank will give me my TAC number and once I got my TAC number, I need to give it to him. When the TAC message came, I saw that he's going to transfer all my money out.

3.jpg
Image: TAC sent from my bank.

I asked him why can't the investigation be done directly on my bank account, why need to transfer out my money? He keep saying that they need to check if the money I have is legit or illegal, and keep pressing me that if I don't cooperate, they will issue a warrant to have me and my family arrested.

He told me that he can clear my name from the suspect list, but he don't have any reason to trust me that I am not affiliated with the Chinese guy they apprehended. So he wants my money to check with Bank Negara to proof that my money is clean. I said the same thing to him... "How can I know this is not a scam?". The person over the phone yelled at me and tell me to google for the number of PDRM Pahang (Ibu Pejabat Polis Kontinjen Pahang). And tell me to check my phone and compare the number with the number from Google.

1.jpg
Image: Result I found on Google.

2.jpg
Image: The number that I received from the person calling me (I've blocked the number since then). The only different here is the +6 in front, which is the international calling code for Malaysia. So, I didn't think much about it.
Edit: Thanks to @bensimblog for pointing out that the real international calling code for Malaysia is +6, not +06. The +06 is clearly fake.

After confirming this with Google, I was convinced that he really is someone from the police department. But then again, I think to myself if the money is transferred out, there's a chance that I can no longer get back my money. I pondered for a good long 3 minutes, while the person over the phone keep threatening me. Finally, I told him that I don't want to give my cooperation. I will go to the police station. He then said "Don't just go to the police station. Bring your clean sets of clothes, and also your family. Surrender yourself and your family. All of you will be put to jail for 5 - 7 years.".

I panicked like hell. I logged in to my bank account and immediately have my password changed. Then I went straight to the police station with my mom to do a police report. The police said not to worry, this is just a scam case. These days these scammers are getting good. They act good, and they even spoof their contact number to seem like the real number calling me. The police said to check my bank account to see if my money is still intact or not. If still intact, I don't need to do a police report. The police officer even emphasized at the message I got from my bank that "Do not respond to any email/sms/phone call requesting you to reveal your TAC.".

To every one that's reading this blog, please share my story out. It may help your loved ones.

Please upvote if my story has helped you. Thank you.

Sort:  

I love the part where he say you and your family will be jailed for 5-7 years.

Apparently fraud related crime whole family can be jailed without trial ROFL!

I didn't think too much on that. The moment he said that I'm going to be jailed, I panicked like hell. Now that you mentioned it, it does makes no sense at all...

Thats awful. Where I live In the UK there's so many scam phonecalls that go around and the elderly are normally the targets. I ignore calls like that but I can understand how people fall for It as sometimes when people are put on the spot like that, they panic.

It's so sad that this Is how some people choose to live their lives, scamming people out of their hard earned money rather than going and getting an honest job.

Atleast you managed to sort It out pal.

Yeah. I almost lose all my savings to these a-holes...

Atleast you've learned mate

I also received this call many months ago but I played along with them because I know they try to scam me because I don't have that much money, debt or anything worth that much. In the end I told them that through all their calls I managed to track each one of them down to their house, cars and etc and in the next 24 hours all the authorities will be looking for them unless they stop this scam and they hang up immediately. The last guy called me said he was a police. I asked for his police number and he refused and started to sound so mad. Then I told him that my dad is a high ranking officer in bukit aman and my mum is deputy attorney general. He hang up immediately too... LOL...

Lol. My dad is Brat Pitt my mum is Angelina Jolie 😉. That's a good one. Lucky for you, you didn't lose any money.

Hahahahahahaha. I didn't. Part of my work is actually to educate people about this kind of thing so I know when it is a scam 😁

Lol, you damn pro man. But well, we all learn from experience.

Hahaha LOL!! Troll back them.

Wow - the real kicker which took me a while to figure out too was the +06 on your call and the real international number of MY which was +6.

That small discrepancy is a big deal. Also Bank Negara did say never give your Bank PIN or password to anyone over the phone.

Oh wow, you are right. The real international number of MY is indeed +6. That +06 is clearly a fake. Thanks for pointing that out! I'll update my post.

You dodged the bullet just in time. Good to share your story. Hopefully it'll prevent other cases too.

Yeah. I was lucky.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jieh to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Luckily didn't give out the TAC number. How to check money clean or not in Digital form?

I don't even know if that is possible. That is why everything feels super suspicious.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64504.36
ETH 3414.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51