Where should we vacation with a baby?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

Steemit friends, help me out: where do you suggest we go for a short family vacation? This is normally the kind of thing I might ask on Facebook, but I’m really trying to get away from that platform. 

We are flexible on dates. The only stipulations are that it needs to be affordable, it must be warmer than here (so, no snow!), and it needs to be family friendly (we are taking our one year old along). 

Have you travelled with a baby? Have any tips? Where should we go? What should we do? 

We appreciate any suggestions! 


Sort:  

I'd suggest a cruise. They are reasonably affordable, given the inclusions that the price covers and it might be more relaxing for you because you don't have to travel as the ship is doing that for you.
I've been on a couple of cruises to the South Pacific and have loved the warm waters.

I actually hadn’t even considered a cruise, but you’re right: it could be more relaxing (and there would be leas planning involved). I’ll have to see what some cruise options are from somewhere near-ish here.

Thanks so much! Great idea.

Definitely a good idea. South Pacific is certainly a bit of travel for you, so not very cost effective. There are some lovely locations that they go to all over the world. So just need to find a location that you would like to visit that is a bit closer to the equator then you are currently.
Wish you the best with your travel investigations. Don't hesitate to reach out if you have any questions about my experiences on a cruise ship. I'm glad to help if I can.

Thank you so much! I appreciate it.

I'm trying to get away from Facebook too? Where are you starting from? What is your preferred mode of transport? How old is your baby?

Starting from snowy Edmonton, Alberta, Canada and thinking we will fly somewhere. Our daughter is one. (Thanks in advance for suggestions!)

Yes, so long, Facebook! Haha!

How about flying down to Mexico? I would guess it's child friendly. Should be warm. Plenty of beach resorts. Maybe find a hotel with creche, children's pool etc.

Take colouring crayons and books and stickers, story books, downloaded children's TV/films for the plane plus snacks she likes. I found giving my daughter one thing at a time worked really well and lasted longer, especially when she didn't know what was in my bag. 😊

Yeah, Mexico is definitely on our radar. An all-inclusive situation could be good with a baby... thanks for the suggestion!

Looks like you do a lot of travelling based on your blog. Where’s your favourite place? Mine is Rome, but we won’t go with our daughter until she’s much older.

If you want to have a fun filled vacation I would suggest San Antonio, TX. The weather is mild right now and there is a Six Flags amusement park. My family and I went a few years ago and had a blast.

We’ve never been to Texas, but have some friends in Austin. Maybe we should look into it!

wherever you go it's good the important is that you have to chose the place where you will entertain and feel goos .hope yu enjoy

I would like to recommend Kirra beach of Coolangatta in Gold coast in Australia Now, it's nice beach, and you might enjoy surfing and relax with your family.

Ah, Australia is a dream trip—it’s a bit too far for a quick vacation but it’s on the travel bucket list. Luckily, we have some extended family in Australia, too. I’m off to look up the Gold Coast—thanks for your suggestion!

Come to Big Island, Hawaii ;)! It's actually super easy to navigate and the kids love the gentle waters and warm sand!! My close mama friend was just here with her 4 kids, including a 9month old! I'm on a facebook fast!!

We are actually seriously considering Kona (or going to Maui). Either way, I do think we have settled on Hawaii if we can find accommodations. A few years ago (pre baby!), we stayed in a little cottage in Hawi and had the best time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59452.12
ETH 2603.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39