It's Been One Year Since My Cat Passed Away

in #life7 years ago

It’s been one year since my beloved cat, Holt, passed away. I have a heavy heart. If you’ve ever lost a pet, you’ve probably felt the ache of this kind of pain. He was a good cat.   

But, today, in Edmonton, Alberta where I live, the sun is shining and I have the day to spend with my partner @MiyuruFernando and our baby girl. I decided that I should try my best to do something to uplift my spirits.   

I know this is a departure from my usual posts about writing, but I hope you’re willing to join in. Animal rescue is another of my passions. I have volunteered with Zoe’s Animal Rescue, a dog and cat rescue, in Edmonton for a few years. They are a 100% volunteer run charity, and I want to make a donation to them in my cat Holt’s name.   

Here’s a screenshot of their website listing my name as a volunteer (and you can see their name on my shirt in the picture above, too).    

Every cent I raise on this post will be donated to Zoe’s Animal Rescue in seven days (so, next Saturday) when I receive the payout. Even if this post does not raise any money, I will donate $25.00 CAD to them online, take a screenshot, and post the update here.   

Thanks for helping me to find some joy today. Continuing to help other animals in need will lessen some of the heartache. And hopefully you can feel good about helping out the rescue, too!

Sort:  

Even though Holt has passed, his memory lives on :) He was an amazing cat and also a rescue like all our other cats, past and present! I really hope we can raise some funds for Zoe's through the SteemIt community; long-term I feel that should always be one of SteemIt's initiatives.

Holt will stay in your heart forever - and you are a wonderful human being for your compassion. Keep it up

I often think about my dogs that passed on. This brought back some memories. Thanks for sharing.

Those fur-kids work their way into our hearts!

You are doing a wonderful work by volunteering at animal rescue! Sorry to hear about Holt. :/

Thank you! I get so much out of volunteering--as much as I give to it I get in return. Can't imagine my life without it!

Great thing your doing.

Thanks! It's a great organization.

All the best for your good cause Jessica!

Thank you! I really appreciate it.

Sorry to hear. All the best to you.

It was a pleasure meeting Holt when I had the chance! Even though he was hiding under the bed, I feel like we made a connection. I'm happy you're making a donation in his name!

Gah! I miss that little guy.

(Also, whaaaat! I didn't know you were on Steemit! Glad you're here.)

So sorry to hear of your beloved cat, Holt, passing. I've lost pets and it is difficult.
I still remember them with a smile. Good luck on your fundraising for ZAR!!

Thanks so much for your kind words. It is really so difficult--I think anyone that has lost a pet understands. It feels just like any other kind of loss--but I do remember Holt with a smile and I feel lucky to have been his person.

I'm already so excited that I have this much to donate to Zoe's rescue! Woohoo! I had a laugh about how I would explain to them where I got the donation... "So, you know crypto currency..."

Maybe it's time for Zoe to join Steem it!!

Now there's an idea... hmm!

Pet rescue might find a following here. Everyone is so nice!!

❤️❤️❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85