You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I am not a Feminist

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I'm on the fence about this post.

On the one hand, the 'humanist' argument is pretty reminiscent of the 'all lives matter' moniker, which misses the point. While it makes sense and is true, it misses the point.

On the other hand, I've encountered the 'you're a rapist because you don't agree' feminism before, and boy is it condescending bullshit (I also feel this way about 'you're a racist because you don't agree'). Sometimes it would be true, other times not, but it has to be taken on a case by case basis based on the individuals articulations and arguments.

If you're a female, being a feminist seems like a pretty damn sensible way to be. However, if you're a female and not a feminist it doesn't make you stupid or weak, and if you're male and not it certainly doesn't make you a rapist. Not all feminists are like this - but, like in all political or sociological ideologies, the loudest ones generally are.

Judging from the tweets you included, this person was out of line in coming to the conclusions about you that they did. It's sort of difficult to resist dismissing a person along with their arguments when they make such a ridiculous leap. I mean, where can you really take the conversation when the other person has already decided you're a rapist?

Sort:  

I'm no the fence about this post.

Sorry, that seems to be slang I don't understand.

On the one hand, the 'humanist' argument is pretty reminiscent of the 'all lives matter' moniker, which misses the point. While it makes sense and is true, it misses the point.

Since I am from Germany I have only seen reports and some tweets about this, so I can't judge this, but I was a humanist before I was a feminist (as in: got in deeper contact with it), and for me it makes sense.

I think the "misses the point" discussion is the POV problem: For the Twitter-woman being a feminist is clearly a defining piece of herself, maybe the center, if she reacts so hotly.
For me "feminist" is just a subset of "humanist". As a humanist I despise rapes. But I also despise slavery, war and so on, without one of those being the all-overarching central point.

Lol. It's not slang. I meant to write 'I'm on the fence about this.' This is a phrase that means that I'm undecided, or am not sure exactly what my reaction is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62332.64
ETH 3006.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94