Homesteading in the Southwest Central Utah Desert - 4 - Neighbors 2

in #life7 years ago

IMG_20170315_11193697b50.jpg
Welcome my Steemit friends today I take you to my pioneer farm - ranch and write a series on it. This is part 4 and Neighbors 2-.

To remind you of Neighbors part 1, there was this photograph I took yesterday as a training situation in which you recognize that your neighbors who you are supposed to love as yourself want you dead, or will want you dead once you buy the property.

Generator Antelope Springs 005

Now to be honest with you, I did not go looking for something like this before I bought the property. I knew about this because there is a generator pounding away in the trailer like sledge hammers out here in the quiet peace of the solitude of nature. It has been there a month or so.

I wanted to see what was happening at a mine and never went up that road for quite some time because I saw who I thought was the owner of the mining claim drive up there every day and I thought hmmm. I wonder if he has started mining snowflake obsidian again. While I drove to the mine, I could not help but notice that a two to three inch black plastic irrigation tube ran for several miles to the north. Here is the first photograph of the tube or flexible piping if you are not familiar with irrigation things.

irrigation pipe 001

This is about a mile north of my house and the next photograph is about a mile past the previous one. I showed this photograph because it shows a mountain off in the distance that is 15 miles north of where we are where it photograph was taken. I think it is named Twin Peak or is one of the twin peaks.

irrigation pipe 002

This next photograph is ten miles to the north from where the first photograph was taken. My wife took this photograph and she was nervous because she suddenly realized when I showed her this pond yesterday just how nasty "El Chapo" was.

irrigation pipe 003

Ten miles of pipe is just a little bit expensive for the average folk to water a few head of cattle. It actually goes on further north and the whole project is just a little bit expensive for the average folks. Now again this is a training story to give you some idea of what can go on out in your beloved, secluded, natural paradise filled with peace and love and brotherhood, sisterhood. Nerds and programmers, developers and crypto enthusiasts are usually oblivious to things like this once they make enough trading or posting to reach their dreams. Trust me. I know.

Oh by the way, long before you ever get to the pond where we took the picture which is upstream ten miles, there is a dry dam. This is a half mile from the spring. The dam has three springs in it and they sealed them up. I thought that they were pumping the water into that dam and that is why I never checked. I thought, there is going to be one great place to swim very soon around here. So, as much as I hated the generator banging away and knew it was designed to drive me away and off from my property, I thought I would get to swim.

I thought maybe they needed it to restart the springs in the dam. Anyways in the first photograph in this post, there were two water trucks there parked next to the source. They seem to have left. Why? Well, as hot3dx (me) says, whenever you find yourself in a situation like this, "The Pen Is Mightier Than The Sword."

Have a great day! Check the title of the property. Introduce yourselves to the neighbors before you buy. And know martial arts really well in case they find out you really are famous and they turn into stalkers or El Chapo.

Previous Parts:

Homesteading Part 1
Homesteading Part 2
Homesteading Part 3

Image Sources @jeff-kubitz

My Facebook Home Page:

Thanks for your visit and I hope you liked this my Steemit friends. Please upvote and resteem and leave your comments and I will answer your questions, maybe in a reply and maybe in a post.

Sort:  

Man! What do your cows eat?

These are range cattle and they eat whatever is there my friend @mericanhomestead. Thanks for comment and the cattle aren 't mine

WOW! So different. But cool. Post more! Will follow!

very interesting post @jeff-kubitz

Thanks my friend @adrianobalan ;-)

u welcome :)

That is quite a story, I hope you survive and your neighbours move away...@jeff-kubitz.

I will survive and thanks for your concern my dear friend @elewarne.

Oh I totally get this. We don't homestead but we are waaaay out there and water and land abuses abound. There is very little public land, yet many think it's fine to turn your cattle out to eat whatever they can find. Divine right. ( with guns ) However, sooo far, I have found it better to try and not get to hot under the collar and pick my ( our ) battles. We love living off the land, but it admittedly is an exercise in patience and tolerance. Just sayin'

Here there is all public land my friend @leokane. If it is not public land it is open range. For me there is no problem with this but yes there are water battles and so on. Thanks for your observations

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67773.53
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71