What's your writing style?

in #life7 years ago

Any aspiring writer knows that there are few general rules we're supposed to follow.

They cover a broad spectrum of ideas.

These rules serve a purpose.

They make sure that we are able to engage our readers and keep them interested.


Source: Giphy.com

You can probably think of a ton of them right off but I'll list a few of the ones that I know off the top of my head.

1 - Make an outline.

Don't just start writing willy nilly. You need a well outlined story.

2 - Start with a strong opening sentence.

You really want to grab your readers right away.

Actually this rule makes a lot of sense for posting on Steemit also.

3 - Be action oriented instead of getting bogged down with details.

Don't spend 10 pages telling me about the red jewel lined curtains that are in the drawing room. I'd rather hear about the sword fight taking place outside.

4 - Make your characters people I can relate to.

If the main character is a jerk that I'm never going to want to read about him.


Source: Giphy.com

I will tell you right now that I don't usually follow these rules.

Sure, I think they are good rules that can help make for a better story especially if you are feeling stuck.

In fact, they work really well if you're just wanting to write something and you don't have any good ideas immediately.

For me though, my process works a bit differently.

I get a vision in my head and I work outward from it.

My most recent story is this one:

https://steemit.com/fiction/@jeezzle/the-exit

I basically saw myself looking through the eyes of the prisoner. He is aboard some kind of a spaceship and looking for, hoping for, some way to escape as he is constantly tortured by unknown and unseen alien entities.

I made a part 2.

https://steemit.com/fiction/@jeezzle/the-exit-part-2

The story progressed and I got a comment from @marxrab stating this:

It's an interesting world this coffin/lab world. I wonder what this male is (an experiment whose never left the lab or something else)? It'll be interesting to see where you take this person.

The truth is that I don't know because I haven't had the vision for part 3 yet.


Source: Giphy.com

I don't mean to say that I'm some crazy guy that sees things that aren't there, or anything like that.

I do get blocks of information at one time though.

I think it comes from meditating everyday.

If I'm thinking about a story, I can begin to meditate on it and it will just come to me. I see the next part of the story and then I write the part that I see.

I'm not saying that this is the perfect writing style and I'm definitely not saying that I think my story The Exit is even very good. Some parts of it are a bit derivative and contrived.

That much is true.

I am saying that I wonder what other people's writing styles are.

I hope with this post I can actually get some good input.

If you like this post please upvote and resteem.

Sort:  

For steemit, I write in English, which is my second language. In Afrikaans I seriously just meditate a little bit and then the words start to flow. Blogging in English is rather difficult for me still, but I am trying to think in English when I think about what I want to write, and I hope that soon I will be able to just write my thoughts and that it will make sense...just letting the words flow naturally. The one thing I do always, though, is to read, read again and edit where necessary.

That makes good sense. It must be difficult to blog here when English isn't your first language.

Hmm...hard question. I always revisit the beginning at the end of the story. It's easier to write a good beginning when you know the end result. I've sometimes been known to start a story in the middle because I have a vision in mind but don't know how the story gets me there. I don't make outlines but I will write a different sentences that transport my mind to scenes in the story and will leave those sentences hanging until I am ready to write each part. I have a tendency to go dark...like I kill people off or something bad happens. Which is strange because I'm typically a happy person. I get my best ideas in the shower...only place where I get to be alone in complete silence.

Oh, this are so good advices. I really like writing, but have a little problem with a strong opening sentence, how you make them? :( gonna read your story tomorrow The Exit when I'm not falling asleep.

Great post and I wish steemit had a sticky or pin option because this is one of those special posts. ??

a very good advice for beginners @jeezzle

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Sep 26. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.39 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Sep 26 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57531.86
ETH 3051.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29