My dad's old computer.

in #life6 years ago

When I was a kid I would sometimes get dropped off at my dad's house.

It was normally on the weekend with the occasional weeknight thrown in the mix.

My dad is a very busy man.

He has always been so busy that he never has had time for anyone or anything, except for his work.


Source: Pixabay.com

He didn't like to work at home though. He would always go to his office and I would often be left alone in an empty house.

It was a one story house, but it was very long. It took quite a while to get from one end to the other.

The bedrooms were all the way on the west end, but if you went east you came to a small room right past the laundry area that had about 10 steps leading downward.

At the bottom of the steps was a very dark study. There was a terrible looking couch that had little white and black tank designs on it. Couches used to have that design a lot back then. I'm sure you would recognize it if you saw it.

There was also an oak desk and several expensive business chairs with the little metal buttons on the backs.

Sitting on the oak desk was a very new IBM computer. My dad's pride and joy. So he said.

He hardly used the computer because he was always at the office. However, he felt the need to have one at his house.

Being a curious kid I used to boot up the computer and look inside the file directories at every opportunity.

One day I noticed the directory that said something like

C:\files\files

What was in there? I wondered.

I assumed it was just nothing. Probably just some work stuff but I took a look anyway. I was greeted with about a thousand different games.

This was probably 1985 or 1986. My dad's computer was an IBM with a monochrome monitor and a floppy drive. The types of games that people were playing were mostly text based.

Zork and Zork 2 were my favorites.

That computer did not have those games on it.

However, it did have a whole bunch of text games that I had never heard of before. Most of them involved going into space or exploring some deep dark dungeon.

I don't think I can count how many nights I spent by myself in the dark playing on dad's old computer.

You might say "that doesn't sound very fun" but it was great deal of fun for me.

I miss those days.

I miss my dad's old computer.

Sort:  

Lovely story, I have a similar one. My father bought a computer and it was a kind of valuable jewel, we had a paper with instructions to turn it on, it was model 386, also a diskette, my first game was NBA, I played with the lakers, I was Magic and Kareen Abdul Jabbar as stars, black and white monitor, great time.

These machines create memories and even give us nostalgia, because we relate it as in your case and mine, with the family.

I think that today we are all day in front of a monitor we remember that old machine that is a symbol of a past.

Greetings and apologize for any errors, use a translator.

Those were definitely fun times. My dad's computer was even older than that one.

First pc which i purchased was in 2008 and i did the same as you did, Played lot of games on it because i use to think that pc's are made for playing games, watching music and movies 😂

Well they are made for those things but also for blogging and commenting on Steemit.

How bright the world in during 15 year its is my experience there is alot thing which can i saw in my life but such thing are now a day not available in market technology changed the world ...

Thank you for your comment.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

This is a great memory and experience you have. I can relate it to my own experience and imagine the fun and enjoyment you were feeling while playing games on the PC. Great! to have such memories, Cheers!

I love the Zork series.

Lovely story, but didn't you ever get scared of being in there alone?

Love little reminders of my parents. Both are gone now.

Glad you have those fun times and that computer connection to your dad!

Posted a little story about mom and dad's phones about a week ago or so....reminders

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63001.43
ETH 3365.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45