Movie review: It 2017

in #life6 years ago

If you are anything like me then you are a constant reader.

Constant reader is the term that Stephen King likes to give to his fans. I love Stephen King. I love to read science fiction, dystopian fiction, post apocalyptic fiction, or basically anything with a very intriguing and unusual plot.


Source: Imdb.com

I also write fiction so that is probably a large reason for my interest.

Stephen King has long been a favorite of mine ever since I first read The Dark Tower series.

However, I really do enjoy several of his novels.

Released in 1986 at 1184 pages, It is a whopper. I haven't read the book in about 20 years but I definitely remember key plot elements.

I must admit that I was not a huge fan of the It miniseries that was released in 1990 starring a bunch of B rated actors like Harry Anderson. Don't get me wrong, Harry Anderson was great in Night Court and a few other shows but he is hardly A movie material.... and It is an A class novel.

Things have come a long way since that miniseries though. The advertisements for the movie were somewhat scary so I was hoping the movie would live up to the hype.

Let's find out if it did.

The first thing that you will probably notice about the movie It is that one of the characters from Stranger Things is playing a main role.


Source: Giphy.com

At first I thought that was pretty cool, but then I noticed that the entire movie could easily have been an episode of Stranger Things.

The movie itself is pretty scary. It has great visuals. The colors are great. The music adds a great ambiance. Overall, it's very close to what I would really want the movie to be.

However, there are two things that I don't like about it.

The character development is not particularly well done. I don't really care about any of the characters.

Also it takes you until the very end of the movie before you are told that this is only chapter 1.

In a way that's a bit frustrating, but it's also kind of cool because it means that next year we should be treated to another It movie.

Now if you were to ask me if this is a great film I would say that it's pretty good.

It definitely feels that horror void you might be having this time of year.

However, at the end of the movie you won't be thinking about the characters because they are not very close to your heart.

Nevertheless, I really do think that you will like it.

Sort:  

King is also one of my favorites in the horror genre. I absolutely love Salem's lot. I too read ITway back in 2003 or so. I liked the movie. It wasn't the best horror movie, but it was quite good.

I'm hoping part 2 will be much better.

I thought the same, maybe we relate this to stranger things because of the actor and the romantic plot, nice post

Well it's a good movie but it is very similar to stranger things and I'm not sure if it's because that guy is in it or if it's just similar to it.

Never. Not in a million years, even if you said it was a fantastic movie. I would never watch a movie like It. Clowns are horrible.

Although that is true if you ever want to learn how to defend yourself against a clown this is the perfect movie for that.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Great.

Really sir you are a story reader.
The Dark Tower a well known series.
I donot like to read knowledge book but i like to read story and nobel yet.
Thanks for sharing sir @jeezzle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82