I still remember all of my favorite children's books.

in #life6 years ago

I love my old books. I always will.

My mom used to take me to garage sales when I was a little kid and we would walk around looking at all of the various different items.

We were on the lookout for books.

Most of the time people don't know what they're selling, or maybe they just don't care. They tend to want get rid of everything right away. You can always find books for quite cheap.


Source: Pixabay.com

I was too young to read the complicated stuff so I usually looked for picture books.

I remember finding a collection of books about a wizard that ran a custard stand. He was going up against some kind of evil wizard but I can't remember why they did not like each other.

I think it was just some silly children's book idea, but it was great fun for my young mind.

I remember another children's book about a little witch. I actually quote a line from it occasionally.

One -derful

Two-good-to-be-true

A three-legged pot.

I think it was probably supposed to teach you about counting.

My favorite stories, though, are from a series of books called Frog and Toad Are Friends.

Frog and Toad Are Friends is a lovely collection of stories that teaches you all about friendship, how to treat your friends correctly, how to be a friend, and how to have a friend.

I'll never forget the story about how Frog was feeling really good about himself, so he got on a stage to tell Toad all about it.

The more Frog talked about how great he was, the smaller Toad got in the audience. Toad got smaller and smaller until Frog couldn't see him anymore. Of course, Frog missed him then.

Where are you Toad?

I learned a lesson from that and I still think about it whenever I start to feel arrogant and boisterous.

When I see people that are acting like just complete jerks sometimes I wonder if their parents read children's books with them.

Those books teach you things that you carry into adulthood.

I still remember all of my favorite children's books.

Sort:  

Good point. Books reinforced several good character traits.

They definitely do.

Loved your story. Books are also my best friend, i learned a lot from these books in my life so everybody should make habbit of book reading in his life.

Books are amazing.

very good post @ jeezzle, we have to read a lot, do not waste books, karna book is a science

Yes everyone should read a lot.

yes @jeezzle, I really agree with you

Beautiful story, there are memories and details in the past of a child that can be applied all the life, from a book like your case, a hug, a song or some wise words of a grandfather. Regards

Agreed. Things we learn in the past definitely carry into the future.

I remember a bunch of my favorite kids books, mainly because I read them all to my little brothers lol "But NO Elephants"was one of my favorite. And of course the Dr Seuss books. And we had one called "The Flying Hockey Stick" that was pretty cool!

I don't think I've heard of those two books but I definitely was a big fan of anything by Dr. Seuss.

I actually spent a while Googling old books I had, and found some I had forgotten all about too. Thanks for a trip down memory lane!

i like your story. keeping and caring for an old book is important, even though the book is old.Because the book is the window of the world.

Definitely. Thank you for your comment.

You're welcome, my friend @jeezzle

Hi
Ah ; my faves were comics , Tarzan ; Roy Rogers ,Dick Tracy ; some magical days man. . Now i go to the Salvation
Army store ; 3shirts for a dollar a great book for 50 cents
Ha ha ! Thanks @ jeezzle

I like those ones too. The Salvation Army is a great place to buy just about anything.

It was good because I was once a hobby, it was a library but it did not grow very well at the speed of time.

That is interesting.

That's awesome but too poor that now kids don't have passion to read such books again, it's movies and video games. Well some kids still read but the vast majority don't.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62904.98
ETH 3359.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46