Expect the unexpected.

in #life6 years ago

I've been working in the restaurant industry for more than 10 years now.

It's not the job that I was looking for. In fact, I was a systems analyst for more than 10 years also.


Pixabay

This was supposed to be a temporary thing, and I do believe it will be a temporary thing. I just have to get my other systems firing. I hope to be able to make my career as a fiction writer, but until that is off the ground I have to keep working and keep earning money.

One thing I've learned about the restaurant industry is that paychecks are very hit-and-miss. We earn tips so you never know what one day will bring and what the other one will give you.

For the most part though, we in the restaurant industry are prepared for November and December to be high-paying months, and for January, February, August, and September to be low-paying months. Anyone who comes into the industry expecting to make a lot of money in either January or September is going to be let down.

However, anyone who comes into the industry in December should be prepared to make some good money.

Should.

Nothing is set in stone. You never really know how everything is going to go even if you plan for it.

The first seven days of November have already passed and we haven't really had any business at all.

Most people are finding themselves in Dire Straits because those in the restaurant industry are absolutely living hand-to-mouth.

Having a seven day run at the beginning of November when we are supposed to be making our largest paycheck and then not making any money at all is not a good thing.

If there's one thing that I have learned about the restaurant industry it's that things are not stable here. You can definitely make a living working in the restaurant industry as long as you are willing to make some adjustments.

It's not a very high-paying job.

However, just because we are all sure that November is going to be a very high-paying month that doesn't necessarily mean that will be the case.

Although it is likely that soon things will pick up and we will all be making money again, there's also the possibility that for one reason or another things don't pick up. That absolutely must be taken into consideration because in order to pay your bills you have to be thinking about all possible futures.

You can expect to make money in November but you should also be prepared to expect the unexpected.

Money comes and money goes but unfortunately as long as we live in this world right now money is what makes everything go round.

Expect the unexpected.

Sort:  

Cryptocurrency is also a very variable way of making money. Unfortunately it's been in a slump for almost the whole year. It gets very frustrating day after day and seeing your portfolio sinking and you can't sell anything to make any money because nothing is earning any money! I feel for you, and hope as the holidays get closer things pick up for you! I know we haven't been eating out as much as we used to because of the poor market these days, so I can understand the trend you've been seeing. Good luck with your writing career, maybe that'll be able to rescue you in the near future!

I guess anything could happen but here's hoping for good things.

Hope things pick up for you mate

I appreciate that.

Having an unsteady income would cause me to have anxiety.... and drive me nuts !

I do hope it picks up nicely the closer to the holidays it gets.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62014.91
ETH 2410.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50