Does your car get the gas mileage the manual states?

in #life7 years ago

Mine doesn't.

I don't think I've ever had a car that gets the gas mileage that the manual says it should.

I drive a Volvo.

I think it's supposed to get 24 miles per gallon driving in the city.


Source: Giphy.com

Volvo has a really nifty computer on the front of the dashboard.

It lists of kinds of cool things.

One of those things that it can list is gas mileage.

My car gets 16 miles per gallon according to that little computer.

I never hit the gas pedal hard at all.

I'm very cautious and careful with my car and I don't speed or anything like that.

Does your car get the gas mileage the manual states?

Follow me @jeezzle

Sort:  

I’d be very surprised if anyone did, cheers mike

I tend to get 28 mpg per gallon with my Nissan Versa. It should be somewhere around 32 for the city, so I suppose that's not far off. Do you get stuck in traffic or hit a lot of red lights?

Not really. It's mostly smooth sailing between work and home taking back roads.

Lucky. I wonder how often they drive the cars to determine the mpg? I suppose the mpg number doesn't account for tire deflation or any vehicle over a certain number of years old. How much does age of the engine, parts, etc factor in? I'm certain there's a bit of 'cheating' in there somehow. I just don't know enough about cars to be able to tell how...

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Oct 23. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.69 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Oct 23 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Congratulations @jeezzle! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great post thank u for sharing love it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64091.48
ETH 3514.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52