Are older super hero movies better than the current generation?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I watched a movie that I had never seen before.

Punisher starring Thomas Jane.

I love Thomas Jane. He has starred in some of my favorite movies.

This movie was a complete masterpiece in my mind.

I think most people know the story of Punisher. A man has his family murdered and then he goes on a rampage and kills all the bad people. In a lot of ways it's a very similar to The Mad Max story.

The Mad Max movies are some of my very favorite and they are an equal example of older hero based movies being better than the current generation.


Source: Pixabay.com

Now I don't want to date myself but I saw the Superman movie starring Christopher Reeves in the movie theater.

It's an incredible movie with an incredible score. The acting is amazing.

Here's the thing.... It's a little bit slow because it gives you time to think about what's happening.

When most people think about superhero movies these days they are thinking of movies like The Avengers.

I've seen The Avengers and the sequel to it but I haven't seen Infinity War yet. I can tell you that they are a great set of movies.

However, they are pretty much all action.

Captain America: Civil War.

Is that a good movie? It has a 7.8 on IMDb.

I was bored to tears by it which is really strange because I'm a big fan of almost every actor in that movie. The problem was there was so much action that didn't seem to be grounded in a realistic story line that I just became frustrated.

The fight at the airport between Ironman and his crew and Captain America and his crew was just lame and uninteresting.


Source: Pixabay.com

It should have been awesome.

Compare that to something like the 2002 Spiderman with Tobey Maguire.

That movie is a downright masterpiece.

They remade Spider Man to apparently make it more up to date. It's just not nearly as good though.

I think the problem has to do with the lack of attention span people have these days.

We used to have TV shows like Taxi in which pretty much nothing happened for the entire episode. Nevertheless it was an awesome show.

I love watching older shows. They're still exciting but they're also very relaxing..

Older super hero movies tend to hold your interest but they also make you think about what's going on.

I want to think about what's going on.

I don't want the movie to just be like this....

Random fight, random fight, random fight, gunfire, punch in the face, random fight , look let's get the bad guy, movie over.

When that happens you leave the theater and ask yourself "what actually happened in that movie?"

The answer is just a bunch of mindless action that didn't further the story line at all so that at the end of the movie you weren't even sure if there was supposed to be a story line.

Maybe it's really just that today's reboots are terrible.

I can't say for sure but it definitely makes me ask the question....

Are older super hero movies better than the current generation?

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 4 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 36 SBD worth and should receive 78 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Interesting. I appreciate it.

Drama is the foundation for the action, without a good story line the movie is pointless.
"The Drop" with Tom Hardy(Bane in "The Dark Knight Rises") Noomi Rapace and James Gandolfini is a great movie. All most all drama, very little action.

I'll have to check that one out. It does sound good.

But like I said, more drama than action. If your in the mood for a great action flick, "The Drop" may not be your best choice. Still, watch it at some point, it's worth it.

Seriously?
Personally, I can't compare the current movies to the old ones. The modifications in the new movies can't be compared to the older ones. I think the current ones are more epic than the old ones, the story lines too... Just too epic to be compared

Well yes the new movies are all about action and when people use the word "epic" they're mostly talking about action and not epic story lines for the most part.

I did like the sequel to Guardians of the Galaxy and I would probably call that movie Epic, but if you are talking about a ton action that is short on story as a fiction writer I have to say the story line should come first.

I feel a lot of it comes down to instant gratification these days. We are bombarded by stimuli everyday that deliver little doses of dopamine. Whether its the likes on your social media post, the chime of your text message, the ping of your chat client, or Capt. America's sweet double-backflip to sideways shield smash + epic explosion... people have been trained and now expect to be spoon fed content and awe.

Unfortunately this has many detrimental effects. One of them being the deprecation of creativity and interpretation for shock and blatancy. Life is balance and contrast, ebb and flow, without it one cannot appreciate the highs or lows.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57797.87
ETH 3067.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29